Easy Weeknight Creamy Chicken Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I have ALWAYS been afraid to make Chicken Alfredo. This was so EASY. One substitution I did make was I used sour cream instead of whipping cream or half and half because that is what I had in my fridge. The whole family LOVED it. We got 8 servings out of it. I ate it 3 nights in a row and it was wonderful heated up. I highly suggest this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was SUPER delicious!! The only thing I did different was add extra garlic (powder form), onion powder, and Italian seasoning. I also added milk in leiu of the cream and just let it cook down to thicken up. Also, I mixed in shredded mozerella at the very end. Super yummy!! Best Alfredo on here yet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I added broccoli to this to make it a complete meal and used whole wheat fettuccine. This dish was okay. I had to toss out leftovers which is unusual in my home. If there had been more of an abundance of sauce, I think it would've gone over much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
My fiance and I really loved this recipe for one of our weeknight meals. However, we cannot find the Progresso Recipe Starter anymore and we have tried 3 grocery stores in our area. We may have to try making chicken alfredo another way. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Another case of a good base but needs (a lot) more help. I made the recipe as written except I used linguine instead of fettuccine. We thought it was pretty bland. It is not something I would serve guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
For both ease of preparation and taste, this recipe beats any other I have tried hands down. Never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Not bad, but to be honest I don't know that the canned good helped, and overall it was just a little bland. I did make some perhaps significant modifications, which you can judge for yourself at my customized version http://allrecipes.com/customrecipe/63436137/creamy-chicken-and-mushroom-alfredo/detail.aspx. To summarize, I added vegetables and subtracted fat (left out the butter and used milk instead of cream). I am not one to eat meat swimming in fat on a weeknight - that would be a special occasion kind of meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
great idea, what i like to do is chop mushrooms in with it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This turned out so much better then I had hoped for. I made it exactly as written then added fresh spinach and steamed carrots at the end for a more colorful dish. We ate it for 2 days and liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was much better than I expected after reading the reviews. The sauce was actually pretty good and very easy. I went with half and half and instead of 1/2 cup parm I used 1/4 cup parm and 1/4 cup mozzarella. I used Shirtake noodles instead of pasta to lower the carbs and instead of chicken I sauteed some shrimp coated in Cajun seasoning. Next time I would use the pasta and save the Shirtake for something else. All in all I feel this is a good starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States