Easy Weeknight Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Made this recipe with frozen chicken (thawed and cut up), frozen mixed greens and chicken broth instead of the starter since Target didn't carry that particular one. My husband and I loved it!! We're making it again but this time with the starter and will see how we still like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
For a quick version, this is very good. The sauce was thin, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Great recipe. Followed basic recipe, but didn't have a bag of frozen veggies, so chopped onion, carrots and celery and sauteed them in a little butter w/ salt, pepper & a tiny bit of garlic. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is a really good, quick dish to prepare on a weeknight. I prepared it just like the recipe, but added a couple dashes of pepper. It took me 30 minutes to prepare, instead of the allotted 15 minutes. I account it to stripping the chicken from the bone and chopping it. The only thing I would change for the next time is baking the bottom crust for about 5 minutes before adding the filling, though, it wasn't bad as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
My husband (my toughest critique) said it the best, "I didn't even know I like chicken pot pie or maybe I've never had one this good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My family loved this, except I did not follow the directions to make it so easy. I'm sharing this because I think the pie is so much better this way. 1. Make your own pie crust. 2. I used my own vegetable mix of broccoli, corn, carrots (1 cup each) - use vegetables you enjoy. 3. Add salt to taste because it's needed. I don't think my family would've enjoyed this at all with the premade crust and the frozen vegetables. The rotisserie chicken was used in my version, and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I'd actually give it 4.5 stars because its almost there just needs a bit of extra love :) But we really enjoyed this. Even my Chicken Pot Pie hating husband went back for seconds and reheated it for lunch. Which says to me he only thinks he hates it. Now I did make some changes to the recipe. I'm not a fan of frozen mixed veggies (lima beans eww) so I diced some carrots, onion, celery, fresh green beans, and a steamed diced potato. Added some frozen peas. Sauteed all these in a bit of butter until they began to soften. Then I made the sauce and added it to the veggies/chicken mix. I did add some extra poultry seasoning, parsley, onion powder, sage and a little thyme. Even with the cutting up of the veggies this went together quickly, love the rotisserie chicken. I didn't add any extra flour just let the sauce simmer with the veggies for a while until it started to thicken then filled the pie crusts. I did use deep dish pie crust. I thought the sauce was a nice kick start to a pretty good Chicken Pot Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Not a fan. I thought the sauce tasted like tin can. I made individual pies with lattice top in ramekins with homemade crust. I used my own vegetable mix and added a potato. I will go back to my own homemade pot pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Made this according to directions except I added a chopped, peeled baked potato. Family really liked it and it was very easy to put together. The flavor of the sauce was just to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Absolutely delicious recipe. I love the fact that I can use the rotisserie chicken leftovers. I made this gluten-free, so I didn't use a prepared regular crust. I ended up using a gluten-free bread stuffing "crust" instead. I also thickened the sauce with Pamela's Gluten-Free Baking and Pancake Mix instead of flour. It was a big hit with my family. I could make this recipe at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States