Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I thought this was delicious. I did make a few changes, but nothing drastic. I added tons of garlic powder and onion powder because I do to almost all my dishes. Plus I added like 1/8 a cup of Worcestershire sauce. I wanted a healthier option so I omitted the sour cream and instead added a little milk. I cooked it down to thicken it. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happysoupandrice
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
My family and I really enjoyed this dish! I made a few additions - used butter instead of oil, added a little flour to thicken the sauce, added a little mustard and green onions. My kids loved it so much that they asked to have it for lunch tomorrow at school! As there were no leftovers, I guess I'll be making another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happysoupandrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Loved this recipe with a few tweaks...I added in some minced garlic, extra Worcestershire sauce, sliced button mushrooms, and used ground beef....awesome dinner in under 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
We really liked this recipe & will use it again. I did tweak it though. After all, it is just a starter, not a finisher. LOL! I first off used only 3/4# of venison loins. While cooking them, I added about 1/4 tsp. California style garlic salt with parsley. I had button mushrooms in the fridge to use up, so I added about 6 of those, sliced, while sauteing the onions. Waited until right towards the end to add the garlic clove, so as not to burn & get bitter. When this was done, I tasted it & it still needed a little more of the California style garlic salt with parsley, so I added about 1/4 tsp. more. I also added about 1/2 tsp. coarse ground black pepper. I cooked my noodles in water with chicken bouillon in it for added flavor & then drained them & tossed them with about 2 Tbsp. butter. My husband doesn't like noodles, but he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
For economic reasons I used boneless chuck steak sliced thin and browned. Added onions, garlic and I added sliced portabello mushrooms and cooked for aa few minutes. I added water,covered, and simmered until almost tender (1hr)and most of liquid was evaporated. Then I added the portabello mushroom sauce and simmered for another 20 min until thickened. Added the sour cream and served over egg noodles.We all loved the flavor of this entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Great recipe but I added a dessert spoon of hot english mustard (already made up) to the low fat sour cream at the end which gave it the zing it needed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was super easy, fast to prepare and a crowd pleaser. I added a bit more garlic and used Campbell's Golden Mushroom soup(local store doesen't carry Progresso recipie starters) and added a can of portabella mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe, made no tweaks and it was delish! Super easy - thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Instead of using sirloin steak, I made meatballs with ground beef. I browned the meatballs in a little oil, then simmered them in the sauce while I cooked the noodles. I used 7 ounces of noodles, which was perfect for the amount of sauce. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States