Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
The family specifically asked for me to make this and they were not disappointed! I was worried at first because the Three Cheese Cooking Sauce seemed so thin but after adding 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese (I didn't have any american cheese available), the sauce thickened right up. I did leave out the red pepper but the bacon gave the mac & cheese and nice crunch and saltiness. I also added a 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper so there was also a little heat to the sauce as well. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I must admit my boys liked this recipe, my youngest son said it was the bacon that made it so good. Quick simple recipe to throw together on a busy week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was a quick and easy mac and cheese that would be good on a weeknight. I used all cheddar cheese since that is what I had on hand and left off the bread crumbs because of personal preference. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
My family enjoyed this somewhat, but we all thought it was a little plain, even with a few modifications. I increased the garlic to a full teaspoon and added 1/4 teaspoon of salt and fresh cracked black pepper to the sauce. I didn't have bacon, so I substituted a can of Spam(r) with Bacon, diced and fried until it was crispy. We all agreed the Spam(r) gave the dish much more flavor than bacon would have. I've never seen American cheese in a loaf form, so I used Velveeta(r) and we really liked the creaminess that added. I had to improvise with the bread crumbs, because I couldn't find Italian style panko in any of the four stores I where I looked for that product. I combined plain panko with Italian seasoning. I also added 2 Tablespoons of melted butter to the panko and put the dish back in the oven for about 5 minutes after adding the crumbs. I left out the optional red bell pepper, because I didn't have any on hand, but I think I'll add it in next time. I'll probably sautee it with some diced onion until it's tender-crisp. I'm not sure I'd call this an easy weeknight dish and the "Ready In" time is way off. Prep time should include the amount of time it takes to boil the water and cook the pasta, which is at least 20 minutes. It took approximately an hour start-to-finish for me to prepare and serve this dish. I'll probably consider making it again, but I'll add more seasonings next time, including perhaps some red pepper flakes or cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
No one enjoyed it. I think it would be palatable as a chili mac type dish, but it didn't do anything for us at all. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I did not care for this & found that the cooking sauce was extremely thin. It was splashing out the pan quite a bit as I stirred & cooked it to boiling. I did not follow the recipe suggestion of removing the sauce from the heat to add in the cheeses. Instead I reduced the heat to med-low and stirred while melting the cheese to reduce & thicken the sauce. I used a whole box of pasta instead of 10 oz. The recipe calls for 6 oz of shredded cheddar, but I had an 8 oz package, so I reserved a handful to sprinkle on top before baking. I also topped with Panko bread crumbs before putting it into the oven so they crisped & browned. Don’t skip the bread crumb topping. Finally, I omitted the red bell pepper. The general consensus among my family was that it was just, “Okay.” We’re not the target family for this kind of a product as I am not a busy working mother who looks for shortcuts in preparing meals. Since I am a stay-home parent I generally prepare everything from scratch and do not use pre-packaged meals or meal starters. However, for someone who needs a helping hand, or who may just be starting out their adventures in cooking, these products will probably work well for you. If you’re not comfortable making a roux or cheese sauce from scratch then this recipe would be just the thing to get you started in the right direction
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Really nice.. I cooked up my own bacon and added a bunch of fresh cracked pepper to the sauce. I also baked it with the crumbs instead of adding them when cooked as the directions instructed.. dont understand putting pale neked crumbs on mac and cheese??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Everyone enjoyed this, and I enjoyed the ease of preparation! I haven't made mac and cheese in a while, so DH and DS were quite happy, and they would be thrilled for me to make this again! The bacon and peppers really helped to make this dish tasty. The only change I made was to use whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by thedailygourmet
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
When I first saw this recipe I wanted to love it, however when I looked at the ingredients of the three cheese starter I inwardly cringed. I noticed "water" as being the major (first) ingredient and I lost all hope for this recipe. I then started hearing amazing reviews. I chose to make this and found that while the sauce looked "soupy" that it ended up blending beautifully and became a creamy sauce that the pasta had a love affair with. I found the bacon was substantial and could be reduced by half. The garlic flavour was not detectable. I received very good comments from a "picky" adult eater who also suggested that a fried onion topping would be a nice addition. Overall I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Good, simple and easy to make recipe. I used Velvetta for the cheese loaf because it was what I assumed they were talking about. Mixed with the sharp cheddar and the cheese sauce, it made a nice mix. Like others, I was highly concerned it was going to be too thin but it did firm up on baking. I put my panko crumbs on top and did not add the pepper. We did not have red pepper in the house and I thought our homegrown green ones would be way too strong. Overall, our family really liked it. I give it four stars because it tended to bind up at the end and there really wasn't any 'wow' factor. Thanks, Progresso, for an easy meal to make during a hectic week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States