Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This turned out really well! I followed the recipe to a T, except I used radiatore pasta. This is a creamier mac and cheese and the progresso recipe starter adds a lot of flavor to the dish. No real need to season it. I admit I was hesitant when I poured the mac and cheese into my baking dish as it was very runny. It thickens up during the baking time and comes out nice! The whole family loved it and I will make it again! *Disclosure: The information and free Progresso Recipe Starters products were provided by Progresso through the Allrecipes Brand Ambassadors Program.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This made for a great "last minute" dinner idea on a busy Friday night. I used what I already had on hand, substituting casarecce for the penne pasta, medium cheddar instead of sharp and mozzarella for the American cheese loaf, 1 cup frozen peas/carrots for the diced red bell pepper (kids won't touch it!) and cooked the bacon instead of using pre-packaged. I also baked it for 15 minutes, then sprinkled on the panko bread crumbs, put it back in the oven to finish the remaining 5 to brown the panko a bit. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Because I did not have a can of Progresso Creamy Three-Cheese Cooking Sauce, I used one can of Campbell's Cheddar Cheese Soup and upped the milk to a full "can". I also used fresh minced garlic and I did use the optional panko crumbs on top BUT I drizzled butter over them. I did not eat this myself but my husband and kids did--they ate the whole casserole dish full. No leftovers for Mom. Apparently, it was pretty good. **I was not given anything to make this recipe, I made it for no reason at all other than to feed my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I threw this together after a busy day of baking, because I had little time and most of the ingredients on hand. I substituted medium pasta shells for the penne pasta, 1/2 cup more of the cheddar cheese for the "American cheese loaf," and I fried up and crumbled 8 slices of bacon instead of using pre-cooked, packaged bacon. I didn't have panko crumbs, so I topped it with pulled bread crumbs drizzled with butter before I baked it. My family loved it....there were only a couple of bites left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
There were mixed reviews on this in my house...I thought it came out pretty good but my kids said it was just ok for them, they are used to moms mac n cheese and this just wasn't it! I subbed the cheese loaf for shredded mild cheddar and I fried and crumbled bacon. It was easy to throw together if you are looking for something quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I went ahead and used an entire box (1 lb.) of penne which is about 1 cup more than called for here. I hate to open a box and not use it all. For us the pasta to sauce ratio was just right with this change. I also cooked up a batch of bacon instead of using the packaged variety. I find it difficult to shred processed cheese because it is very soft so instead, I cubed it and dropped it into the sauce mixture while it was simmering and allowed it to melt. I LOVE the Progresso Italian style panko bread crumbs and they are a staple in my pantry. They add nice texture to the dish and the red bell pepper adds nice color contrast. I made this for my two teenage boys and although it isn't the same as "from scratch" they seemed pleased. Especially with the bacon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is now my go to comfort food recipe! I couldn't find the Progresso sauce so I used Ragu cheese sauce. It was amazing! It took a little bit longer than I anticipated but was totally worth it. I am very glad I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I used fresh garlic, and five strips of center-cut bacon (one of which was used for the garnish), and cooked for 30 minutes. This actually turned out pretty well, was plenty creamy, and relatively easy to put together. The Italian panko bread crumbs really give the dish some texture, so don't skip that ingredient. I still like my old family mac 'n cheese recipe better, but I wouldn't hesitate to make this again, adding some chopped onion, as I do with my favorite mac 'n cheese recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I followed the recipe nearly exactly---used two fresh garlic cloves and several pieces of newly fried bacon. I ran out of panko so used Progresso Italian bread crumbs and parmesan cheese on top. We thought this was a good side dish. You could add leftover chicken or turkey to this to make it a main meal. Thanks, Progresso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I thought the flavor on this was pretty good. I also think the ratio was off on the amount of pasta you need. I made a letter extra pasta and added almost another cup to the sauce and it was a good consistency. I also used fresh bacon instead of bacon bits. Honestly, this didn't seem any faster to me than making a mac and cheese homeade from scratch. My family would prefer the homeade and I am not using anything canned so I can control the sodium levels & not use a processed food. I don't plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States