Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Good, simple and easy to make recipe. I used Velvetta for the cheese loaf because it was what I assumed they were talking about. Mixed with the sharp cheddar and the cheese sauce, it made a nice mix. Like others, I was highly concerned it was going to be too thin but it did firm up on baking. I put my panko crumbs on top and did not add the pepper. We did not have red pepper in the house and I thought our homegrown green ones would be way too strong. Overall, our family really liked it. I give it four stars because it tended to bind up at the end and there really wasn't any 'wow' factor. Thanks, Progresso, for an easy meal to make during a hectic week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is a quick, easy dinner that pleases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I actually thought this was decent! I halved the recipe and used some random ditalini pasta and fresh garlic. Also, to the sauce I used all light Velveeta b/c it melts the best for me, and added in a little seasoned salt and black pepper. I omitted the red pepper, and chose to use the bacon on top w/ the panko (before baking), instead of mixing it in. This had a nice taste...although it will not replace my usual mac and cheese recipes, this was easy to make and was nice to try something new! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I'll give this 5 stars due to flavor. I left out the "cheese loaf" since I don't have it in the house and added a bit more shredded cheddar. This is perfect for busy weeknights and got my daughter out the door for soccer with a full tummy and no complaints. Thanks, Progresso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was very good and really easy. It is extremely rich though. I didn't have american cheese loaf, and it sounds really gross so I just used colby jack blend and shard cheddar. I also used 5 strips of thick cut bacon and omitted the red pepper. I didn't have panko bread crumbs so I used some Italian bread crumbs and put them on before I put the mac n' cheese in the oven. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was just ok for us. Its definitely a pretty dish, the taste just wasn't something that suited us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
DELICIOUS! I am not a fan of Mac 'n Cheese so this recipe was made especially for Hubby. I was certainly surprised with my first bite. I mentioned that it was pretty good and Hubby corrected me that it was REALLY GOOD! My only change was to use Velveeta cheese in place of the American & Cheddar cheeses as it was what I had on hand. I hesitated to add the red pepper but did anyway and I'm glad I did. I cooked six slices of bacon and crumbled them. After the dish was baked I sprinkled it with panko as instructed but was wondering if I should have done that prior to baking. Oh yes, I didn't have Italian style panko so I mixed plain panko with some Italian seasonings. The end result was DELICIOUS! Thank you Progresso Recipe Starters for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I’m not usually fond of mac and cheese, but we thought this was very good. I used rotini pasta to capture all the delicious sauce. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This turned out pretty good. The family all liked it. It was easy to make, and we all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was pretty good. I used extra sharp cheddar and a pound of Cavatappi pasta instead of the penne. I also fried and crumbled bacon instead of using the bacon bits, and left out the red bell pepper. Diced onions would be a nice addition in here. For the topping I mixed a little bit of shredded cheddar in with the panko. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States