Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
We tried this tonight! It was yummy! I used finely diced yellow bell pepper, and put it into the cheese sauce while it was cooking. So when it was cooked for 20 min in the oven and then served, no one could even tell that there was any vegetable in the dish. I cooked thick cut bacon to use in the dish...used about 6 slices, cooked well done and chopped. I cooked the pasta dish for 15 min, then I mixed in the bacon, topped it with Panko and parmesan cheese, and broiled it for 3-4 min, until lightly brown and crunchy. The Progresso starter is a new product, I think, b/c I had trouble finding it in the grocery store. I had to ask for help from an employee to find it, and I know my store pretty well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My mac n cheese lover in our house is my 11 yo grandson. He liked this for the most part, but not the red pepper. Since he doesn't like panko, he was glad I used my whole wheat bread crumbs mixed with a little butter and bacon fat..I didn't want to waste it since I sauteed the bacon anyway..hehe..the cheese flavor was very good in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My husband loved it but I felt it was mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Easy, quick, and great as a main dish or side dish. Easy to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I love this quick mac and cheese! I was a little leery of garlic in mac n cheese but it was excellent! Will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was kid-friendly, and the leftovers didn't last for more than 24 hours. I thought the bacon made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This recipe is super simple and if you are a busy mom with children (and adults) that like Mac' n Cheese, you'lll like this one. I'm not a fan of any prepared foods - I was VERY pleasantly surprised with this recipe. I took this over to my parents house one night when they were watching my son and all 3 of the gave it a thumbs up. And, for those wondering why not 5 stars - just can't do that with a canned product and personally, I thougt it could use a lot more seasoning and cheese loaf (yuck).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Sauce was very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Not being a macaroni and cheese fan and definitely not a fan of processed canned foods I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. I was gifted some Progresso Recipe Starter cooking sauces to try and decided on this recipe. The cooking sauce seems a little runny but once baked it is perfect. Be sure to use good quality bacon. I made the mistake of buying cheap bacon and the flavor was awful. I baked this in smaller individual baking dishes and left the bacon out on some and I am glad I did. That isn't the fault of the recipe though. Overall, a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by jennbo
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Not bad, but WOW, this needed sharper cheddar flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States