Easy Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I liked the recipe other than the golden mushroom soup. So I made it again and used just the cream of mushroom and a can of water. The first time I cut the meat up, the second time I didn't I just put all the meat in first, then added the cream of mushroom soup and water,then I used 1/2 of a white sweet onion and cut up whole carrots and added some black pepper and set it on low and let it cook all night. The meat fell apart. It was delicious. My family puts it on top of biscuits. Definitely keeping this recipe with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Excellent! The meat was so tender. I will be making this again (that is if my husband ever gets a deer) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat41775

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I used everything the recipe called for, and it came out way to sweet tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hvicknair603

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
So easy & very tasty. I added some potatoes & a packet of onion soup mix. I'm not the venison fan that my husband is, but we both ate this & enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is wonderful! And the best part -- so easy! I like quick mix. So, I used some frozen stew veggies from Wal-mart ($2/bag-- I used 2 bags). It had the potatoes, onions, carrots, celery already cut and ready to put in the crock pot. I used the golden mushroom soup as called for, but used cream of chicken soup instead of cream mushroom. I used about a half can of chicken broth. I added a little bit of garlic pepper, and my secret ingredient to almost everything -mild taco seasoning! Threw in crock pot in about 2 minutes before work. It was ready before I got home. Put over cornbread first day; corn chips second day. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This couldn't be easier and the results were great. I did add 4 unpeeled, cubed potatoes and used low-sodium mushroom soup, but didn't alter the recipe in any other way and it was done perfectly at 6 hours. I was concerned there wouldn't be enough liquid after adding the potatoes, but it was perfect. A great weekday or family sunday dinner, but not necessarily good for sharing with company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Very Good. Very easy. Stew meat melted in your mouth. Instead of noodles we put this over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sassy's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Very good recipe for venison. The meat was so tender and not at all gamey tasting. Added potatoes, bay leaf, majoram and thyme. Made a 2nd time and used 1/2 buffalo and 1/2 venison. The strong flavor of the buffalo overpowered the venison. Will stick with all venison from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Wow! This is so simple and delicious! My dear husband won't eat venison unless its disguised, and he loved this. I wasn't sure how much meat I had, so I put in a whole onion. As suggested, I added garlic and red potatoes. I can't rave enough about this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Everyone loved it! A total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenners

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States