Easy Venison Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Made this tonight, exactly as stated. I admit, I was a bit skeptical about the amount of water and stuffing that it called for. It turned out much better than I expected. My oldest son and husband loved it. My youngest wouldn't touch it after a bite and I thought it had a nice flavor. The only thing I'd change is swap out 1 lb of the ground venison burger for ground venison sausage (something I do for all my meatloaves normally to add more flavor) and cut down on a little bit of the stuffing (the seasoning in it was a bit much with the barbecue.) The barbecue was much more predominant than what I usually taste in my regular meatloaf with ketchup. Very nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Photo by outdoorcookin
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This was great! A nice change of pace with venison, My 6 and 7 years old couldn't get enough. If the 6 yr old liked it then I will using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Won't be making this again. Waaaay too much onion, even with 2 1/2 lbs. of meat. My stupid fault for putting it all in, but I didn't realize it til it was too late. I don't think meatloaf is supposed to be crunchy. Could barely taste the BBQ sauce. Even added extra to accommodate the extra meat. Basically flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
If you're going to review a recipe, REVIEW THE ACTUAL RECIPE! If you flopped it, don't give it two stars because YOU screwed up. Don't brag about how you changed it because now you're rating your own and NOT the recipe itself. Review: This was PERFECT for me. Not a lot on-hand at the moment, but I definitely have all of this, I tell you. It was easy, delicious, and definitely NOT too onion-y. We used Sweet Baby Ray's for a BBQ and ohhh, OHHH. Perfect. Just perfection. Lean and wonderful. They couldn't tell it was venison! Loved this, definitely will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mary Esther, Florida, USA
Living In: Destin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I made some changes. I used 2 lb venison and 2 lb ground turkey. To make it gluten free I used 1 cup certified gluten free quick oats instead of the stuffing. I left all the other ingredients the same as for the 2 lb venison recipe. It came out very moist and tasty. Next time I will use more bbq sauce and less water in the meatloaf with 4 lb meat. The loaf held together well - this is a major victory when trying to cook anything gluten free! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made some slight changes. Venison was 15% pork added. Used 2lbs. The BBQ sauce used was Sweet Baby Rays Honey. I added 3 tbs of Lea & Perrin Worcestershire to it. Used a small to medium white onion and a stick of celery chopped. Stuffing used was Stove Top Savory Herb. Replaced water with 3/4c of milk. For topping, rather than more BBQ sauce, I used my blend of Heinz ketchup, brown sugar, French's spicy brown mustard and Ghost Sauce (http://soninlaw.net) It's good. I'll make it like this again. Literally just finished eating and want more... Just no more room. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Delicious and easy! A big hit at our dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
We've made this recipe 3 times in the last couple months and love it. The stuffing mix really adds great flavor and texture. We have made it using both venison or ground bear meat, and both turn out great in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States