Easy Vegetarian Spinach Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made as directed except, I doubled the amount of filling and sauce and omitted the nutmeg because I thought I had some, but apparently did not. Also, since I don't have a steamer insert, I just rinsed the spinach well and put it in a large pot with a lid for about 3 minutes on high heat and squeezed the water out before adding to filling. I think the lasagna would definitely be a bit flat and sad with the amount of filling the recipe calls for, though it might be a decent option for those looking to cut calories. With the extra filling and sauce, it was quite tasty and easy to make. I didn't like it as well as my favorite traditional lasagna, but while this isn't exactly "diet food" it still is more diet friendly than the version I normally make that has much more cheese, in addition to all the meat. My dad who thinks food isn't worth eating if there's nothing that used to have a face in it, rated it as "better than I expected." Not the recipe I'd pull out for company, but a good solid option for when I want something a bit different. Next time I make it, I will try the nutmeg, add some salt and pepper to the spinach directly and make sure I taste the filling for seasoning before I add the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I did change some things - added garlic and garlic powder and eliminated the nutmeg. I also didn't measure the amount of sauce! Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
It was yummy! I doubled the amount of cheese and substituted cottage cheese (Also doubled the amount) for the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This was good. Like others, I made more sauce and more of the cheese mixture. I'm trying to add more veggies into our meals, so added shredded carrots, diced zucchini and mushrooms. I used low-fat ricotta and low-fat mozarella. I will make this again. I'm planning to try it next time with Ragu light-alfredo sauce instead of red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Please correct title. This is not a "vegetarian" recipe. Vegetarians do NOT eat eggs. We do use dairy products. Vegans are vegetarians who do not use dairy. I tried a recipe similar to this in Cooks Illustrated without the egg. Please substitute something for the egg and re-post. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I added a bit of crushed garlic to the ricotta/spinach mix for a bit more flavor. Was absolutely delicious! Will definitely make again (with the garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I Loved the flavors of this lasagna but the two layers weren't enough, I even added extra ricotta and cheese but still ran short.. Also 50 minutes was a bit long, mine was over cooked and I took it out 5 min early. I will definitely try this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Great and easy, need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I have made this numerous times and never did I have a complaint. So very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Murat Kilci
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Excellent!! Kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murat Kilci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States