Easy Vegetarian Red Beans Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I was a little doubtful about this at first because it didn't have a lot of cheese inside, but it was great! The sauce on top really completed it! Next time I'll use 2 cans of beans (mashing one for texture) because I would have liked it to be a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Fayette, New York, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Thanks for the inventive recipe! Due to diet constraints, I used either fat free or lowfat dairy (FF mozzarella instead of the delicious Gruyere,sorry!) added a cup of FF cottage cheese w/ a little egg white mixed in to up the protein and served it with a bit of marinara mushroom sauce on the side. Scrumptious and satisfying.Brought the calories down to 291 per hearty serving (1/8 of 8x8 pan) and only 8 grams of fat. I loved the bechamel with the beans and tomatoes. Who would have thought?AAA+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
WOW-this was SO GOOD! We absolutely loved it! I have to admit, at first I thought "Beans in a lasagna?!" I love beans and lasagna so had to try it. I was amazed at how much I loved it. It's not heavy at all; such a nice change from many vegetarian lasagnas that are super cheesy and rich. This will be a definite favorite from now on. I made 2 and froze one for later; am so glad now that i did! The only slight complaint was that it was a bit runny and didn't hold together very well; although this improved significantly once it had sat for several minutes. It may have been because I used petite diced tomatoes as they tend to have more liquid. Didn't matter-we ate it right up! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I liked this, but didn't *love* it, although someone who I served this to liked it enough to ask for the recipe. Not the recipe's fault, but the lessons I learned from this: Use as deep a dish as you can and don't fill it to the top; try not to assemble this ahead of time. I had to let this sit on the counter for a bit after assembling the whole thing: hot bean mixture, white sauce, cheese and all, and there were consequences. I had puddles of yellow all over the top of my lasagna by the time I put it in the oven, mostly butter from the bechamel sauce, I think. I had to pat the top dry after it cooked for a while - even with a pan under the dish, there was butter overflow and things got smoky. The gruyere cheese is expensive, and given this expense, I expected more of a taste payoff. If I make this again, I might try for a less pricey cheese with a similar texture & a bit of a stronger taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I made this for my vegetarian Mom's birthday dinner---and she really enjoyed it. It was an interesting twist on lasagna--the Gruyere cheese is the key to it's flavor! I doubled almost all the ingredients so I could make it in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAIGENGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
this is a delicious recipe! i served it to a table of vegetarians, and everyone really enjoyed it. i used jarlsburg cheese though, rather than gruyere, because it was much less expensive. next time i will add an extra can of red beans, but its great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This dish was a pleasant surprise. I was a little skeptical about this recipe because I don't like pasta dishes that are too heavy and rich. but I eventually tried it because, like another review said, I've been looking for good vegetarian recipes with beans. And this one turned out to not be nearly as heavy as I expected. I used fresh basil and some extra bell pepper, and combined with the Gruyere the flavors really popped. When I make this again (and it'll definitely be soon!) I do plan on doubling the beans and tomatoes because I like my lasagna a little thicker. But otherwise this was absolutely delicious :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Childs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
made this into a mexican treat. Added spinach to this and mexican spices instead of basil and oregano. Topped with colby/jack cheese. Will be a staple in our house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie 'Wilken' Epp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a great recipe, but I found that there was not enough filling in it for our taste. I doubled the bean filling and it's prefect! I definitely recommend the Gruyere cheese, it's SO GOOD with this! But, sometimes it is hard to find at the grocery store. Last time I made this, I used a mixture of romano and asiago cheese and that was good also. Overall, great recipe! Even my "meat and potato" eating friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hydromatic3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
yes we love this lasagna :) I don't use canned beans, I cook the dry beans, so usually end up with more lasagna ... have also used flour tortillas in place of the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim-Berly Boyce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States