Easy Vegetarian Red Beans Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
SO good! I doubled the receipe and just put it in a bigger baking dish. I also used fresh basil and an extra can of the red beans for texture, mashing them while leaving the other 2 cans intact. everyone loved it!! the cheese is a MUST :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vmaley01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folcroft, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I added a green pepper and sliced cherry tomatoes with 2 greated carrots and sprinkled a bit of feta cheese between the layers. I doubled the recipe and froze half. Freezes nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Interesting and different. Like other people, I found that it wasn't quite thick enough. I'd probably add more garlic next time and double the beans/tomatoes as some have suggested. The Gruyére was wonderful! As a whole, though, the lasagna didn't stick together well enough. Maybe adding some cheese inside would help, or mashing the beans. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I was a little doubtful about this at first because it didn't have a lot of cheese inside, but it was great! The sauce on top really completed it! Next time I'll use 2 cans of beans (mashing one for texture) because I would have liked it to be a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Fayette, New York, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
WOW-this was SO GOOD! We absolutely loved it! I have to admit, at first I thought "Beans in a lasagna?!" I love beans and lasagna so had to try it. I was amazed at how much I loved it. It's not heavy at all; such a nice change from many vegetarian lasagnas that are super cheesy and rich. This will be a definite favorite from now on. I made 2 and froze one for later; am so glad now that i did! The only slight complaint was that it was a bit runny and didn't hold together very well; although this improved significantly once it had sat for several minutes. It may have been because I used petite diced tomatoes as they tend to have more liquid. Didn't matter-we ate it right up! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
great but for a truly vegetarian version use either a strong cheddar or if you can find it vegetarian parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Excellent vegetarian option. I doubled the recipe and used a 9x13 pan. I used only 1/2 the guyere cheese and it still came out cheesy enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
this is great lasagna - the beef is not missed, couldn't have turned out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I made this for my vegetarian Mom's birthday dinner---and she really enjoyed it. It was an interesting twist on lasagna--the Gruyere cheese is the key to it's flavor! I doubled almost all the ingredients so I could make it in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAIGENGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This dish was a pleasant surprise. I was a little skeptical about this recipe because I don't like pasta dishes that are too heavy and rich. but I eventually tried it because, like another review said, I've been looking for good vegetarian recipes with beans. And this one turned out to not be nearly as heavy as I expected. I used fresh basil and some extra bell pepper, and combined with the Gruyere the flavors really popped. When I make this again (and it'll definitely be soon!) I do plan on doubling the beans and tomatoes because I like my lasagna a little thicker. But otherwise this was absolutely delicious :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States