Easy Vegetarian Red Beans Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Top marks for a great recipe! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very good! I did as suggested and doubled the amount of beans but it was still runny. It didn't matter because it tasted good! I also added a little bit of red (cayenne) pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Fantastic! I made it last week and I couldn't get enough of it- neither could my family. I did double the beans and the tomatoes, as another reviewer suggested. I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
yes we love this lasagna :) I don't use canned beans, I cook the dry beans, so usually end up with more lasagna ... have also used flour tortillas in place of the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I liked this, but didn't *love* it, although someone who I served this to liked it enough to ask for the recipe. Not the recipe's fault, but the lessons I learned from this: Use as deep a dish as you can and don't fill it to the top; try not to assemble this ahead of time. I had to let this sit on the counter for a bit after assembling the whole thing: hot bean mixture, white sauce, cheese and all, and there were consequences. I had puddles of yellow all over the top of my lasagna by the time I put it in the oven, mostly butter from the bechamel sauce, I think. I had to pat the top dry after it cooked for a while - even with a pan under the dish, there was butter overflow and things got smoky. The gruyere cheese is expensive, and given this expense, I expected more of a taste payoff. If I make this again, I might try for a less pricey cheese with a similar texture & a bit of a stronger taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is the best lasagna I've ever had! I doubled the recipe and added an extra can of beans (at the recommendation of other reviewers). Next time I'll mash a can of the beans and layer the cheese in with the beans and lasagna noodles so the top isn't the only part with the cheesy goodness. I also want to find a good alternative for the gruyere cheese so I can afford to make this more than once a year (it's $20/lbs here! Oy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Everyone really liked this recipe. Doubled the beans liked recommended and thought it was yummy. A bit too much white saucy for me, which is why the 4 instead of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
We found this to be just OK. It was fairly dry and lacked some flavor. If I make it again I might put some cheese in the layers as well as a little more spices. However, it's a healthy alternative to traditional lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipe deserves the ratings it gets. Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Splashme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States