Easy Vegetarian Red Beans Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very good! I did as suggested and doubled the amount of beans but it was still runny. It didn't matter because it tasted good! I also added a little bit of red (cayenne) pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Fantastic! I made it last week and I couldn't get enough of it- neither could my family. I did double the beans and the tomatoes, as another reviewer suggested. I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
yes we love this lasagna :) I don't use canned beans, I cook the dry beans, so usually end up with more lasagna ... have also used flour tortillas in place of the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim-Berly Boyce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I liked this, but didn't *love* it, although someone who I served this to liked it enough to ask for the recipe. Not the recipe's fault, but the lessons I learned from this: Use as deep a dish as you can and don't fill it to the top; try not to assemble this ahead of time. I had to let this sit on the counter for a bit after assembling the whole thing: hot bean mixture, white sauce, cheese and all, and there were consequences. I had puddles of yellow all over the top of my lasagna by the time I put it in the oven, mostly butter from the bechamel sauce, I think. I had to pat the top dry after it cooked for a while - even with a pan under the dish, there was butter overflow and things got smoky. The gruyere cheese is expensive, and given this expense, I expected more of a taste payoff. If I make this again, I might try for a less pricey cheese with a similar texture & a bit of a stronger taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is the best lasagna I've ever had! I doubled the recipe and added an extra can of beans (at the recommendation of other reviewers). Next time I'll mash a can of the beans and layer the cheese in with the beans and lasagna noodles so the top isn't the only part with the cheesy goodness. I also want to find a good alternative for the gruyere cheese so I can afford to make this more than once a year (it's $20/lbs here! Oy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Everyone really liked this recipe. Doubled the beans liked recommended and thought it was yummy. A bit too much white saucy for me, which is why the 4 instead of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
We found this to be just OK. It was fairly dry and lacked some flavor. If I make it again I might put some cheese in the layers as well as a little more spices. However, it's a healthy alternative to traditional lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipe deserves the ratings it gets. Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Splashme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is my all time favorite! Made it a number of times. Don't need to change a thing. Although you could make it gluten free substituting cornstarch for the flour and using rice lasagna noodles. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

How to Make Lasagna

See how to create a beautiful, classic lasagna in just a few easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States