Easy Vegetarian Red Beans Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Turned out really nice. Interesting alternative to meat or ricotta-based lasagnas. Next time, I'll probably use less dried herbs, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Very good dish! I doubled the red beans and diced tomatoes to make the filling thicker as well. I prefer it that way. I also used mozzarella cheese instead, it's cheaper and still tasted great. The white sauce on top is a nice touch. I recommend this dish! My family of non-vegetarians thought it had good flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Even the kids loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is really good! I tried to make it a tiny bit healthier/cheaper to make for my own needs so I made a few little changes. Added a bit of cottage cheese and grated light cheese in between the layers. Used light pizza mix cheese on top (much cheaper!) instead of gruyere. Used light soy milk instead of regular. Added in some diced carrots. That's about it! This was super tasty and a bit addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Love, love, love this. I didn't know how well this would come out of the casserole dish with the beans at the bottom, so I did a layer of noodles at the bottom. Also, I used whole wheat pasta and I used 2 cans of red beans and I smashed them slightly for better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danalicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Oh, I was so excited for this - and, alas, kind of disappointed. The flavors are good and it's a wonderful idea, but there was way, way, way too much white sauce. The Gruyere vanished into the sauce and never turned brown, and the end result was like mac and cheese with beans, tomatoes, and not much mac. If I make it again - and it's worth working on to get right - I'll decrease the white sauce and increase the bean/tomato mixture; I'll also add half the white sauce in the middle, and maybe another layer of pasta. I'd also add a bit of nutmeg to the white sauce; I almost did this time, and wish I had. I loved the use of Gruyere, though - a nice variation! Fontina would have been tasty, too, and I might try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
delicious just as written. let cool to keep shape while cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
What a great, simple recipe! I only added 1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese to recipe and subbed mozzarella for the gruyere. My meat eatting hubby even loved this one...this will definitely be in my weekly rotation..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was really good! I did notice the topping of the milk and parmesan turned out great but it seemed there was too much. Really drowned the dish. Maybe use less topping or more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Top marks for a great recipe! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

How to Make Lasagna

See how to create a beautiful, classic lasagna in just a few easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States