Easy Vegetarian Red Beans Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Followed the recipe but was nothing special. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a great recipe, but I found that there was not enough filling in it for our taste. I doubled the bean filling and it's prefect! I definitely recommend the Gruyere cheese, it's SO GOOD with this! But, sometimes it is hard to find at the grocery store. Last time I made this, I used a mixture of romano and asiago cheese and that was good also. Overall, great recipe! Even my "meat and potato" eating friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hydromatic3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a wonderful main dish for 3 or 4 people. I put some sliced olives on top (chives would have been good as well), otherwise you just end up looking at a creamy looking, nondescript casserole. Delicious though! Next time I will use fresh diced tomatoes instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I am giving this 4 stars because while the flavor was awesome (I'm not kidding, perfect flavor combination) I used the no-boil lasagna as recommended and it didn't work out as well as I had hoped. It baked longer for 20 minutes so the noodles would cook. I will make this again and will definitely sub in pre-boiled lasagna noodles. Stellar recipe otherwise!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebring

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jackson Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
mmmm! I think I'll make this more often than regular lasagna! I used yellow peppers instead of red to add some colour. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I rated this based on the changes I made. I didn't have everything the recipe called for so I didn't use garlic, I used yellow peppers instead of red, I used italian stewed tomatoes instead of regular diced, I had romano beans on hand and I used cooked spinach lasagna noodles. I also changed the white sauce by using cream cheese in place of butter, adding only about 1/4 cup light parmesan cheese and putting in about 1/3 cup of light shredded mozzarella. I topped it with a bit of light cheddar and mozzarella (no gruyere). SUPRINSINGLY my whole picky family loved it! (Even my pepper hating brother)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I have made this twice and both times it's been great! We have been using beans in place of meat to save on the grocery bill and honestly, we don't miss the ground beef in the recipe! I love that the two of us can eat off of it for a few days then freeze the rest for later in the month for a quick lunch/dinner and it thaws just fine. Thanks! Changes: Omit Gruyere Cheese- topped with Mozzarella, soaked and boiled kidney beans instead of canned, 8 oz container of cottage cheese mixed with pasta sauce to layer with as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feedinanarmy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This recipe is so YUMMY. I have really never tasted anything like it. I make my own beans, which I added some barely to. I added the extra 15 oz's. Instead of canned tomatoes, I added a can of traditional spaghetti sauce (used the whole can). I read the other review where they added thin slices of zucchini on top of the noodles. so I did add zucchini also. It was so yummy, My meat eating son thought there was meat in this dish. I think the cheese sauce makes it taste more "meaty" Oh and I didn't use the expensive cheese, I just used what I had on hand.. Mozzarella and sharp cheddar. I didn't have red pepper so I switched it out for green pepper, I had on hand. Super deliciousioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Marrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Outstanding and everyone loved it. I did not change a thing. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is my new favorite dish. It is the easiest lasagna I have ever made and it tastes absolutely divine. Thank you so much for this recipe. I will be making this very often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

How to Make Lasagna

See how to create a beautiful, classic lasagna in just a few easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States