Easy Vegetarian Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I made this soup for a dinner gathering of friends, and it was a HUGE hit. I had made this soup once before and it was a big hit then, too. It is very easy to make, and all my guests raved that it was the best corn chowder they have ever had. I felt like a pro! Would definitely recommend this recipe. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This was a very good recipe and simple to make. This is not a thick chowder, but it's pleasantly sweet. I added a little extra salt, which gave the soup a bit more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I loved this recipe and so did the rest of my family. It's very flavorful and a great winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Delicious! I omitted the skim milk, used chicken broth and added 3 cut up chicken breasts. I doubled the recipe and had enough for my Bible study group, canasta group and still had left over. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAJUNKIN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Guin, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was really good, but even better when we stirred in grated cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Absolutely delicious. I add potatoes (pre-cooked) and use chicken broth rather than vegetable, since that's what I tend to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
i am surprised at the number of naysayers with this recipe, they must be crazy, because it is delicious. i, too, skip the nutmeg because it just seems weird and potentially icky, and i also add a whole lot more of the shredded carrot just because it makes it a little heartier. lucky me, i live just a block from boudin's (offering the most delicious bread san francisco is famous for) so i serve the tasty soup in sourdough bread bowls. everyone loves it. we fight over leftovers. sometimes it gets ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Really good. Omitted the half & half. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very good! I made two small changes. I used chicken broth since that is what I had on hand. I also used 2 cans of whole kernal corn instead of one and one can of cream corn instead of two. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I wanted to make just enough for myself so I used the calculator for 1 serving. I used a little more corn and about twice the flour recommended. I used soy milk in place of the half and half and the skim milk, and the result was surprisingly creamy! I also left out the nutmeg based on other reviews. This soup really hit the spot- I'm sure it would have been even more delicious if I had half and half! But, really, it's healthier without, and it's totally creamy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States