Easy Vegetarian Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I made this soup for a dinner gathering of friends, and it was a HUGE hit. I had made this soup once before and it was a big hit then, too. It is very easy to make, and all my guests raved that it was the best corn chowder they have ever had. I felt like a pro! Would definitely recommend this recipe. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to use fresh local corn so I used 5 ears of scraped corn. I also left out the nutmeg as many others suggested (nutmeg just seemed odd) and added a pinch of red pepper for an added kick. We like spicey foods. Also added 1 local grown medium sized yukon gold potato. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
i am surprised at the number of naysayers with this recipe, they must be crazy, because it is delicious. i, too, skip the nutmeg because it just seems weird and potentially icky, and i also add a whole lot more of the shredded carrot just because it makes it a little heartier. lucky me, i live just a block from boudin's (offering the most delicious bread san francisco is famous for) so i serve the tasty soup in sourdough bread bowls. everyone loves it. we fight over leftovers. sometimes it gets ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Great chowder. I read the reviews before making this and omitted the nutmeg as recommended by others. Did not use creamed corn, used 2 cans of whole kernal corn drained instead. I also added some minced garlic (little less than a tsp) when cooking the onions in the butter. Also, I'm not too fond of celery so I left that out completely. I added potatoes, red pepper and a small can of hot chili peppers for some spicy. Finally, I didn't have skim milk so I used 2% and it turned out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Sas-Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I hate to give a review like this, but I can't honestly let it go. I made this for my dad last winter and the soup turned into an inedible mess. I followed all the directions and even consulted the reviews of the other cooks. Still, we each tried to grin and bear it, but after 3 bites we couldn't handle it. Maybe I missed something in the instructions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zox67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Leave out the nutmeg! I made it twice, once with and once without nutmeg because the flavor disturbed me. It is much better without. I also used soymilk, which substituted very nicely. For the meat eaters, I topped with imitation bacon bits, and which they loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This was okay. I think it needs some potatoes in it. Didn't like the flavor of the nutmeg in this one. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This was a very good recipe and simple to make. This is not a thick chowder, but it's pleasantly sweet. I added a little extra salt, which gave the soup a bit more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is a great recipe for corn chowder. I really feel that the nutmeg is a necessary ingredient, it works really well in it. Though, I probably used a little less than the recipe called for. I left out the celery and used all milk instead of half-and-half (I just cooked it down a bit). I think this recipe would be even better with a little diced potato and more carrot. Also, don't be stingy with the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I added three small potatoes, diced, and cooked them in the broth (needed an extra cup or so of broth). When the potatoes were soft, I used my hand blender to blend them up, which made for a thicker, creamier soup. I also thought it needed a couple of teaspoons of salt (probably partly b/c of the potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States