Easy Vegetarian Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I made this soup for a dinner gathering of friends, and it was a HUGE hit. I had made this soup once before and it was a big hit then, too. It is very easy to make, and all my guests raved that it was the best corn chowder they have ever had. I felt like a pro! Would definitely recommend this recipe. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This was a very good recipe and simple to make. This is not a thick chowder, but it's pleasantly sweet. I added a little extra salt, which gave the soup a bit more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This was okay. I think it needs some potatoes in it. Didn't like the flavor of the nutmeg in this one. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I loved this recipe and so did the rest of my family. It's very flavorful and a great winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Leave out the nutmeg! I made it twice, once with and once without nutmeg because the flavor disturbed me. It is much better without. I also used soymilk, which substituted very nicely. For the meat eaters, I topped with imitation bacon bits, and which they loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to use fresh local corn so I used 5 ears of scraped corn. I also left out the nutmeg as many others suggested (nutmeg just seemed odd) and added a pinch of red pepper for an added kick. We like spicey foods. Also added 1 local grown medium sized yukon gold potato. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I hate to give a review like this, but I can't honestly let it go. I made this for my dad last winter and the soup turned into an inedible mess. I followed all the directions and even consulted the reviews of the other cooks. Still, we each tried to grin and bear it, but after 3 bites we couldn't handle it. Maybe I missed something in the instructions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zox67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Delicious! I omitted the skim milk, used chicken broth and added 3 cut up chicken breasts. I doubled the recipe and had enough for my Bible study group, canasta group and still had left over. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAJUNKIN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Guin, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was really good, but even better when we stirred in grated cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Absolutely delicious. I add potatoes (pre-cooked) and use chicken broth rather than vegetable, since that's what I tend to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States