Easy Vegetarian Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I made this soup for a dinner gathering of friends, and it was a HUGE hit. I had made this soup once before and it was a big hit then, too. It is very easy to make, and all my guests raved that it was the best corn chowder they have ever had. I felt like a pro! Would definitely recommend this recipe. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This was a very good recipe and simple to make. This is not a thick chowder, but it's pleasantly sweet. I added a little extra salt, which gave the soup a bit more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This was okay. I think it needs some potatoes in it. Didn't like the flavor of the nutmeg in this one. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I loved this recipe and so did the rest of my family. It's very flavorful and a great winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Leave out the nutmeg! I made it twice, once with and once without nutmeg because the flavor disturbed me. It is much better without. I also used soymilk, which substituted very nicely. For the meat eaters, I topped with imitation bacon bits, and which they loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to use fresh local corn so I used 5 ears of scraped corn. I also left out the nutmeg as many others suggested (nutmeg just seemed odd) and added a pinch of red pepper for an added kick. We like spicey foods. Also added 1 local grown medium sized yukon gold potato. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I hate to give a review like this, but I can't honestly let it go. I made this for my dad last winter and the soup turned into an inedible mess. I followed all the directions and even consulted the reviews of the other cooks. Still, we each tried to grin and bear it, but after 3 bites we couldn't handle it. Maybe I missed something in the instructions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zox67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Delicious! I omitted the skim milk, used chicken broth and added 3 cut up chicken breasts. I doubled the recipe and had enough for my Bible study group, canasta group and still had left over. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAJUNKIN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Guin, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was really good, but even better when we stirred in grated cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Absolutely delicious. I add potatoes (pre-cooked) and use chicken broth rather than vegetable, since that's what I tend to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States