Easy Vegetarian Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Really good. Omitted the half & half. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
i am surprised at the number of naysayers with this recipe, they must be crazy, because it is delicious. i, too, skip the nutmeg because it just seems weird and potentially icky, and i also add a whole lot more of the shredded carrot just because it makes it a little heartier. lucky me, i live just a block from boudin's (offering the most delicious bread san francisco is famous for) so i serve the tasty soup in sourdough bread bowls. everyone loves it. we fight over leftovers. sometimes it gets ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Absolutely delicious. I add potatoes (pre-cooked) and use chicken broth rather than vegetable, since that's what I tend to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was really good, but even better when we stirred in grated cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Delicious! I omitted the skim milk, used chicken broth and added 3 cut up chicken breasts. I doubled the recipe and had enough for my Bible study group, canasta group and still had left over. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAJUNKIN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Guin, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I hate to give a review like this, but I can't honestly let it go. I made this for my dad last winter and the soup turned into an inedible mess. I followed all the directions and even consulted the reviews of the other cooks. Still, we each tried to grin and bear it, but after 3 bites we couldn't handle it. Maybe I missed something in the instructions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zox67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to use fresh local corn so I used 5 ears of scraped corn. I also left out the nutmeg as many others suggested (nutmeg just seemed odd) and added a pinch of red pepper for an added kick. We like spicey foods. Also added 1 local grown medium sized yukon gold potato. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Leave out the nutmeg! I made it twice, once with and once without nutmeg because the flavor disturbed me. It is much better without. I also used soymilk, which substituted very nicely. For the meat eaters, I topped with imitation bacon bits, and which they loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I loved this recipe and so did the rest of my family. It's very flavorful and a great winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This was okay. I think it needs some potatoes in it. Didn't like the flavor of the nutmeg in this one. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States