Easy Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I really think it probably should have had some beef bouillon and water to counter the strong tomato flavor (that's all I could taste). Followed the recipe exactly and it was bland, bland! I kept adding salt and pepper but it always needed more. UGH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrill Pecere

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I use frozen bagged veggies when making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I tried this but I used frozen vegetables and it was great, definitely will use as a base for any soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Given the ease of this recipe, this is delicious! I never expected so much flavor from so few ingredients. First, I substituted Johnsonville Italian Sausage for the ground beef. I took the casings off the sausage, crumbled and browned it, adding in the onion in the last few minutes. I then drained the fat. I don't normally eat canned veggies, but I decided to give this recipe a shot anyway. I used Veg-All canned veggies. For the canned diced tomatoes I used half plain tomatoes and half onion-garlic seasoned tomatoes. It didn't seem like there would be enough liquid at first, but the more the soup cooked down and simmered, the more liquid there was. I held off seasoning the soup til the very end because I thought the sausage and canned veggies would provide some saltiness. I only had to add a bit more salt and pepper at the end. I simmered the soup for just over 3 hours. I thought about having a bowl after only an hour, but the flavors really developed with an additional 2 hours. This makes a lot of soup. I cut the recipe in half and still had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Really good! And easy to make??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Excellent soup! I had to add some white vinegar to cut the taste of the tomatoes which overpowered the recipe a bit, but I think if I had cooked it for the three hours I wouldn't have had a problem. I served this at a community lunch program and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Pond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made 1/4 the amount of this recipe for lunch today and it was great, way better than I expected for such basic ingredients. I used frozen mixed vegetables instead of canned and added a quarter cup of water to moisten them, but otherwise did everything as written. I even used the onion (chopped fine), which I normally don't care for but thought might be important in this recipe. This recipe is easy and affordable and I felt like the ratio of meat to tomato to mixed veggies was perfect. I seasoned well with salt and pepper. I feel this has more of a stew or chili-like consistency than a soup because there was not too much of a broth, but I was happy with it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I make this soup about once a month and the family loves it! I just add a few dashes of hot sauce and a small amount of chili powder! Very tasty and economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBOWMAN66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I make this soup almost weekly and my family loves it! I've tried a lot more complicated beef vegetable soup recipes, but this one is the clear winner! I change nothing about the recipe except that I cook mine in the crock pot on low for 6-8 hours. I always use Veg-All for my vegetables, but I'm sure it doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I used a package of country style frozen vegetables instead of the canned to reduce the amount of sodium, excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emery, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States