Easy Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Given the ease of this recipe, this is delicious! I never expected so much flavor from so few ingredients. First, I substituted Johnsonville Italian Sausage for the ground beef. I took the casings off the sausage, crumbled and browned it, adding in the onion in the last few minutes. I then drained the fat. I don't normally eat canned veggies, but I decided to give this recipe a shot anyway. I used Veg-All canned veggies. For the canned diced tomatoes I used half plain tomatoes and half onion-garlic seasoned tomatoes. It didn't seem like there would be enough liquid at first, but the more the soup cooked down and simmered, the more liquid there was. I held off seasoning the soup til the very end because I thought the sausage and canned veggies would provide some saltiness. I only had to add a bit more salt and pepper at the end. I simmered the soup for just over 3 hours. I thought about having a bowl after only an hour, but the flavors really developed with an additional 2 hours. This makes a lot of soup. I cut the recipe in half and still had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Really good! And easy to make??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Excellent soup! I had to add some white vinegar to cut the taste of the tomatoes which overpowered the recipe a bit, but I think if I had cooked it for the three hours I wouldn't have had a problem. I served this at a community lunch program and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made 1/4 the amount of this recipe for lunch today and it was great, way better than I expected for such basic ingredients. I used frozen mixed vegetables instead of canned and added a quarter cup of water to moisten them, but otherwise did everything as written. I even used the onion (chopped fine), which I normally don't care for but thought might be important in this recipe. This recipe is easy and affordable and I felt like the ratio of meat to tomato to mixed veggies was perfect. I seasoned well with salt and pepper. I feel this has more of a stew or chili-like consistency than a soup because there was not too much of a broth, but I was happy with it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I make this soup about once a month and the family loves it! I just add a few dashes of hot sauce and a small amount of chili powder! Very tasty and economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBOWMAN66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I make this soup almost weekly and my family loves it! I've tried a lot more complicated beef vegetable soup recipes, but this one is the clear winner! I change nothing about the recipe except that I cook mine in the crock pot on low for 6-8 hours. I always use Veg-All for my vegetables, but I'm sure it doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I used a package of country style frozen vegetables instead of the canned to reduce the amount of sodium, excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emery, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! I am learning to cook super easy thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by antdrewsmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is a great recipe. It was quick, cheap, and easy. I did add some potatoes that I had on hand but it would of been fine without the potatoes. Perfect recipe for a busy mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I used frozen vegetables instead of canned and added a few lentils and some garlic salt, oregano and seasoned pepper - very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States