Easy Vegan Whole Grain Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I just made these pancakes, substituting what I had on hand and they came out great! I used a cup of organic wholewheat flour, 1 tbs. ground flax seed instead of soy flour, coconut milk instead of soy milk, panela (unrefined cane sugar), and bananas, topped with pure, organic maple syrup…thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I experimented with adding 1/4 cup of ground pecans and 1/4 cup of ground almonds, omitting the chopped pecans. Like many others, I didn't have rye flour or soy flour so I used all whole wheat flour (and a tiny amount of leftover white flour). After adding a little more liquid, the pancakes were exactly the medium-thin, soft/fluffy consistency beloved by my family. And yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Like many people, I didn't have the various flours, only whole wheat. It seemed a little runny once I mixed the wet and dry ingredients, so I substituted ground flax seed for the nuts. The batter became so thick I decided to call these "pancake cookies" -- but then when we ate them, they were still very light! Delicious with pure maple syrup (and organic sugar rather than white). I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Thank you thank you thank you! We have missed pancakes. I doubled the whole wheat flour since I did not have rye and replaced the soy flour with ground flaxseed. I also used almond milk instead of soy and maple syrup instead of white sugar. I did find that I needed to add a little more water/milk to these to thin them out a bit. The texture was much better than I expected with the whole wheat flour and they were great with maple syrup on top. Am sure they would be awesome with some fruit, peanut butter, and/or chocolate chips mixed in too! So glad to have a healthy pancake recipe that actually tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
i just ate one small one, my 7yr old girl and 6yr old boy too. I used rice flour and white flour instead, and added 2 tablespoons of flax seed. Added water until the mixture was thin enough to pour. And added chocolate chips and banana to the mix. Delish with blueberry jam spread thinly over it, a tad of maple syrup and a red berry garnish sugar is not vegan if it's processed with pork bones. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
These were very good. I used applesauce instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
White sugar is NOT vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
light & fluffy & better than some regular pancakes I've had. After reading other review I doubled it to feed my small family of four (husband, 1 year old, 3 year old, & me) we ate all of them. next time I will triple or quadruple it so we have leftovers for the next morning! I didn't have rye or soy flour so I used 1/2 rice flour, 1/2 cup oat bran & 2 T wheat germ (remember I doubled it) and I used a little honey instead of sugar. Everyone loved em! We'll be using this recipe from now on when we make pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These don't taste great (well not with all whole wheat flour and regular milk and no pecans) but they worked when I was out of eggs! Add some syrup and they are eaten right up - they really are fairly light and not bad. I'd make them again in a pinch but not for any other reason. :) Oh and I needed extra milk - probably because I used all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
My 7 year old and I went Vegan recently, so I have to relearn many things including making pancakes. These were better tasting than regular pancakes! I used whole wheat flour, rice milk, and raw sugar. I must comment that white sugar is NOT vegan. This recipe will be used often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmmmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmore, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States