Easy Valentine Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I just made these for my kids for Valentine's Day and have to say they were a winner. I followed some of the other reviewers' advice and refrigerated the dough before rolling but had trouble rolling it at first. Once it finally warmed up, it rolled much easier. I also rolled it out on powdered sugar rather than flour and that made the cookies taste even better. Definitely making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Super cute and super easy!!! My 8 year old daughter, and I, made these for her class on Valentine's Day!! Thanx a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I use this recipe for all of my sandwich cookies now... it is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this recipe today for Valentine's Day tomorrow. I like to make little treats for my husband to take to his co-workers. For a surprise, I used raspberry jalapeno jelly on the inside of the cookie sandwich! The outside I iced with a simple powdered sugar and milk icing. I found 8 minutes to be the perfect baking time for me. I stuck the dough in the freezer for a short wait on getting started with rolling and cutting. Per another user's advice, I rolled the cookies with powdered sugar instead of flour--unless you like extra sweet cookies, I'd recommend using the flour instead. A tasty cookie! Didn't have trouble with it running while baking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this with the full intention of doing the whole "sandwich" thing. Unfortunately my cookie cutters were kind of big and also a lot of the cutout hearts didn't match up well with the smaller hearts. So I decided to serve them as is, separately without frosting. The taste and texture was very good (I omitted the almond extract)... not a soft cookie but not super crunchy as long as you watch the baking time. I baked for about 7 minutes. I usually have a terrible, terrible time with sugar cookie dough being too sticky and impossible to roll out. However I followed suggestions of chilling the dough AND using confectioner's sugar to roll out as opposed to flour. It wasn't foolproof but it was a much better experience. I also divided the dough into thirds and colored one red and another pink. The cookies turned out well, I ended upw tih multicolored hearts, some with holes in the middle. I think this might be my next roll-out sugar cookie recipe. Remember to chill the dough and use confectioners sugar to "flour" the dough and your work surface. I handled the out of this dough and it didn't get tough or dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrispySugar
Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Today being February 14th, I made these! I made 2 batches. I read once that it is best to refridgerate dough for 1/2 hour before rolling it out. I did that. This recipe worked out beautifully! The only problem I had was it took me almost all day to make them! They were worth it though...very very good! YUMMY...I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These cookies were a lot of work, but pretty good. They came out a bit crispier than I would've liked, so I'd probably keep them a little thicker next time. I took another reviewer's advice and lightly dusted the rolling pin, the dough, and my work surface with powdered sugar instead of flour, which was nice. I'd only make these again if I had a lot of time and didn't mind cleaning up afterward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very easy recipe to make and the cookies are very soft. I put seedless raspberry jam in between the cookie layers which was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This will be my new Go-To recipe for sugar cookies. It was perfect as is. I only used vanilla. Didn't have to refrigerate the dough. It was easy to work with and my son loved the cookies very much. I didn't make sandwiches out of them because the link to the frosting is broken anyways. I decorated some with royal icing and some with marshmallow fondant. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
awesome!! Can't handle the dough too much though or become tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States