Easy Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
The recipe's fine as is. I don't understand the need on the part of some to completely re-write the recipe. If you do that, you've created a NEW recipe, so why bother rating this one, as is? (Am I gonna be banned/kicked off the recipe.com site now for pointing out rudeness?) Just curious. :) This is a new take on the tuna casserole recipe. You either like it or you don't. I think it's fine, as written. Thank you to the creator for posting their creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2559 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Great recipe but I'm completely in agreement with the review and comments by, "ChgoFoodieGal". And in that spirit I made some changes to the recipe. For the macaroni I substituted flour, baking soda and baking powder. For the tuna I substituted eggs. For the onions I substituted oil. For the cheese I substituted buttermilk. I ended up with a batter that I cooked on a hot griddle and ended up with pancakes. But it was a great tuna casserole recipe! ;~} Honestly, making a minor change to a recipe you're reviewing is one thing but most of these reviews have changed so many ingredients that I don't see why they bother to review it. It kind of misses the point of posting recipes with specific ingredients, doesn't it? This recipe is either good as it is, (or with a minor modification) or it isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1852 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This is a simple recipe! It easily adapts. I didn't have FF Onion, and was out of cheddar. Instead, I used 2 slices provolone & 2 slices of american cheese on top. At the end of baking, I added pan toasted/buttered homemade crouton & pan toasted sliced almonds. I very much agree w/ the suggested extra can of tuna & more moisture (1/2-3/4 C. Milk or water). I prefer Cream of Mushroom. I add a dash of this and that of my favorite spices. It wasn't too creamy or too rich. My husband had cringed at the notion of Tuna Casserole at dinner. Once he tried it, he asked for seconds and THIRDS -- plus he's even requested it a few weeks later...Now, thats what I like-- a simple, basic recipe that is a family favorite! My toddler also loved it. Next time, I'll add some peas to complete this one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
504 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This recipe was excellent as it was written. I 100% agree with ChgoFoodieGal when she said it's ridiculous to thoroughly CHANGE the recipe and then rate it. We are rating THIS recipe. I can maybe see adding more spice or possibly one item, but some raters change almost all the ingredients except the main one, losing the entire concept of the rating system. Good grief.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
431 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
My husband and I agree that this is the best tuna casserole we've ever had! Thanks, Lindsay's roommate! However, other reviewers were right on when they suggested a few additions - like 1/2 to 3/4 cup milk, another can of tuna, and Velveeta cheese. Also, if you are like me and are unsure how much macaroni to cook to get 3 cups cooked, I finally found a conversion for pasta on a cook's chart. According to that chart, 1 cup uncooked pasta will yield 2+ cups cooked. So, I am going to try 1 1/2 cups uncooked next time instead of just eyeballing it...despite the great fun that can be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
SOOO GOOD! I used 4 C of cooked macaroni, 2 cans of tuna, one can cream of chicken soup, one can of cream of mushroom soup, 1/4 C of milk, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, blackpepper powder, 2 TBSP mayonnaise, and 1 tsp of dijon mustard. I put some cheddar cheese with the pasta mixture and put on top a combination of cheddar cheese and Italian mix cheese. On top of that, I melted 4 TBSP of butter, combined with 8 TBSP of seasoned bread crumbs and sprinkled on top of the cheese. This is totally Da Bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The_Martins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
From the start, I heeded the advice of other reviewers: added one can of mushroom soup, an extra can of tuna, half a can of milk, and a can of peas. I tasted the mixture at that point, and it was pretty good. For extra flavor, I added lemon pepper, garlic powder, dry mustard, and basil. I was generous with everything but the mustard. I used lowfat soups and omitted the cheese to save a few fatgrams, and it was still delicious, and easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This was extremely wonderful - my new comfort food! I made a few of the alterations other people suggested: 2 cans of tuna, frozen peas, one can cr. of chicken, one can cr. of mushroom, plus some garlic salt. I tasted it at that point, and found I was wanting a little bit of zing in it. So I added about 2/3 cup of mayo, and it turned out marvelous. I would recommend trying that for a bit of zip. I also omitted the onions since I didn't have any. But all said, this recipe is a great starting point, and probably would have been awesome if left alone too. I am pregnant, and think it's become one of my new cravings... (new addition: I love pickles with my tuna sandwiches, so I thought, why not? I threw in some dried dill weed, and it tastes marvelous!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
like everyone else, i added to this recipe, but found it to be an excellent one. i doubled it to feed 5 adults and added 2 cups frozen peas and used 3 cans total of albacore tuna. also added some black pepper and tabasco sauce for some kick and there were no left overs!! darn it! can't believe how easy it was to make too, definately will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I so agree with CHGOFOODIEGAL, don't show a review with totallly changing the recipe. ALL recipes, and I mean ALL recipes are individual creations. whenever you adapt/change/alter, which is what ALL good cooks do for personal preferences, you have then made a unique/personal recipe, which you should take the time to adapt, measure, and do all the things necessary to make it your own version, and publish it. Not totally embelish and change someones creation or adaptation of a recipe THEY made for personal taste. TRY the recipe as printed, rate it, then make your own adjustments for taste later, and create your own recipe.. Nick Stellino, a personal mentor, and expert southern mediterranean chef, in his book, "CUCINA AMORE", that taught me the basics of cooking and adapting, says the same thing. Try it the way it is written, then, as all recipes are, adapt to make it your own, through experiment and creativeness, and personal taste.. Kimberly, this was an excellent version of an old family standby in comfort foods. Thank you....And I am sure I will adjust it somewhat for personal preference, AFTER, I try it your way...hehe. Thanks girl. very good as is. 5 stars for your creative juices. keep'em coming..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,033) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States