Easy Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Excellent! It was declared "one of the best soups ever" by my partner. I modified a bit and used vege broth instead of chicken broth (we don't eat meat) and added some fresh basil at the end! A total keeper! The second time I made this I omitted the tortellini and added shrimp (we do eat seafood)-- also a total hit! Thanks, Katie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I did not have a red onion, I used a sweet onion instead. I also threw in some chopped red pepper, fresh minced garlic and a cup of chopped fresh mushrooms. I did choose to drain and rinse my canned corn. I served this soup with homemade Red Lobster-type biscuits, which the boys used to sop up the remaining broth in their bowls. Very filling and satisfying soup--the extra added vegetables made it even more so. Even my kids enjoyed it, we all thought this is most definitely a make again meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I have never enjoyed a new recipe this much before, I was so surprised I actually made involuntary yummy noises! I did make a couple substitutions: instead of sugar and hot sauce I added about 1/3 cup ketchup and chili pepper flakes, I also didn't have wine in the house so skipped that. I did add the corn but will probably go with garbanzo beans next time to cut down the sweetness. I forgot to add the parmesan, probably because it tasted so good I didn't think it needed anything else. I'm already excited for leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this recipe as listed with no changes. My husband liked it enough to keep a bowl for leftovers the next day. I didn't save the rest. I am not a tomato soup lover and this was definitely a tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Boner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This soup is really yummy. I think that adding the Parmesan to the soup while it's cooking is the kicker for this recipe. It gives it really good flavor. (Of course I always add a little on top in the bowl too!). I used low sodium broth because of my diet and it tasted fine. Even my little guy who doesn't eat soup enjoyed a bowl and for me, that is always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartwell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
I made this soup for a Lenten soup supper and it was a hit! Unfortunately, I never got a chance to try it, but everyone else loved it! It was the first soup to go! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was certainly easy enough but we just did not like it. It was a little on the sweet side with the sugar and the corn. I don't like sweetness in my soup. I think if there were more veggies it might have made it better. My family ate it but no one really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
so delish! i added a bit more broth, wine, and garlic, and italian seasoning and it turned out AMAZING!! salt and pepper to taste and a nice hot baguette for dipping....perfect fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
YUMM!!!! This really is super easy and had a fantastic flavor! I didn't have hot pepper sauce, but didn't miss it either. I used tomatoes with basil and garlic since that is what I had on hand and that was wonderful. Highly recommend this. Hubby (nor I for that matter) are big on tomato-based soups, but this one is the exception! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bacau, Bacau, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States