Easy Tootsie Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Awesome recipe! Okay, I can see how some of the other reviewers had problems. First off, if you use powdered milk, rather than Dry Milk (used in making bread - Sanalac is the brand I used), I can imagine the taste would be HORRIBLE! As for making them, at first my batch was dry and crumbly, so I added just a smidge more butter and it came together. Think of it like play-doh that has dried out and you have to add a little moisture (in this case, butter or corn syrup), to make it hold together again. The only real way to work it was with my hands, but it was fun and not messy! It was a BIG hit with kids and grownups alike. I'm going to make it with my kids' 1st grade class as a 'science/cooking' project!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
If you have trouble making this properly, I'd check to be sure you're using "dry milk" not "instant milk". There's a difference. Dry (non instant) milk is commonly used in bread recipes for celiacs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I made this recipe with my Brownie Troop. We put all the ingredients into a ziplock bag and passed it around for kneading. What fun for everyone to participate and the end results were delicious!!!! with no mess!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
I loved this recipe. I think they taste better than the store bought ones. Trick too if you don't have powered milk use dry dairy creamer.... Thank you for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
This recipe was a HIT at my Son's Bake Sale!! I wrapped them individually in parchment paper and sold them for a quarter a piece, the went like wild fire!! I've been asked several times for the recipe! Thanks Erika!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I found this to be a really fun recipe. It doesn't taste like the real thing, but the texture is a little similar. **tip** after all the ingredients are incorporated and have turned dark brown, place the mixture in a ziploc bag and knead from the outside. It won't stick to the bag or your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by letter2elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I think they taste great, although not exactly like a tootsie roll. I was looking for something fun and easy to make with my little brothers (5 and 3 years). This totally fit the bill. It was fun, easy and yummy! What a great thing for little kids to make. (SMALL HINT: I had to add a little extra corn syrup) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I made these this morning to go on a Kitty Litter cake. They were quick, easy to mold (you can make absolutely disgusting shapes) and do taste just like real tootsie rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I agree with the other person who said use instant nonfat dry powdered milk. There are many brands, but I buy the grocery store brand and it is fine. No, instant nonfat dry powdered milk is not inexpensive. The grocery store brand is no cheaper per gallon than fresh milk, but it is great for homemade hot cocoa, pancake mix etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
My family really likes these candies. It takes a bit of kneading to incorporate the dry milk into the mixture, but if you continue kneading it will eventually come together. These are soft like a fresh Tootsie Roll, not like the stale ones you get that feel like you're going to break your jaw on it! I individually wrapped them in plastic wrap, so they wouldn't dry out or stick together. This is a fun recipe to make, I will probably make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States