Easy Tootsie Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
This recipe was a HIT at my Son's Bake Sale!! I wrapped them individually in parchment paper and sold them for a quarter a piece, the went like wild fire!! I've been asked several times for the recipe! Thanks Erika!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
My 7 year old son loved this recipe and he had so much fun helping make them. This is a kid-friendly hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
I loved this recipe. I think they taste better than the store bought ones. Trick too if you don't have powered milk use dry dairy creamer.... Thank you for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I wonder if I did something wrong since I was very disappointed by this recipe. The taste was only somewhat similar to tootsie rolls and the consistency was ALL wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
If you have trouble making this properly, I'd check to be sure you're using "dry milk" not "instant milk". There's a difference. Dry (non instant) milk is commonly used in bread recipes for celiacs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
WOW. Did not enjoy these at all. They DO NOT taste better, or even similar, to tootsie rolls. A major disappointment!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
HELP!! The looked and felt like tootsie rolls but didn't taste like it. I think I need to used DRY milk NOT instant - can NOT find DRY only. I can only find dry-instant and the stuffs not cheap! Also, cannot find DAIRY dry creamer. Can anyone in So. Cal. tell me where to find it? Or even order it online?? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Awesome recipe! Okay, I can see how some of the other reviewers had problems. First off, if you use powdered milk, rather than Dry Milk (used in making bread - Sanalac is the brand I used), I can imagine the taste would be HORRIBLE! As for making them, at first my batch was dry and crumbly, so I added just a smidge more butter and it came together. Think of it like play-doh that has dried out and you have to add a little moisture (in this case, butter or corn syrup), to make it hold together again. The only real way to work it was with my hands, but it was fun and not messy! It was a BIG hit with kids and grownups alike. I'm going to make it with my kids' 1st grade class as a 'science/cooking' project!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
LOVED this recipe! Made it with my 6-year-old. He mixed until he was tired of it, and I hand kneaded the powdery mixture until it was smooth and dark brown. Then the kids got to make shapes out of it, just like play dough, only tasty. I just used plain old instant non-fat milk, whatever was already in my kitchen, and had no trouble at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I agree with the other person who said use instant nonfat dry powdered milk. There are many brands, but I buy the grocery store brand and it is fine. No, instant nonfat dry powdered milk is not inexpensive. The grocery store brand is no cheaper per gallon than fresh milk, but it is great for homemade hot cocoa, pancake mix etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States