Easy Tootsie Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
My family really likes these candies. It takes a bit of kneading to incorporate the dry milk into the mixture, but if you continue kneading it will eventually come together. These are soft like a fresh Tootsie Roll, not like the stale ones you get that feel like you're going to break your jaw on it! I individually wrapped them in plastic wrap, so they wouldn't dry out or stick together. This is a fun recipe to make, I will probably make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I made this recipe with my Brownie Troop. We put all the ingredients into a ziplock bag and passed it around for kneading. What fun for everyone to participate and the end results were delicious!!!! with no mess!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I work in a camp kitchen and we just tried them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I think they taste great, although not exactly like a tootsie roll. I was looking for something fun and easy to make with my little brothers (5 and 3 years). This totally fit the bill. It was fun, easy and yummy! What a great thing for little kids to make. (SMALL HINT: I had to add a little extra corn syrup) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Yuck! I think it must be the corn syrup. If there was some other liquid that would sweeten and bind it without the nasty aftertaste, I think this recipe could be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Made these again for a cookie decorating party. Very easy to make and the kids enjoyed rolling the dough into balls and putting them in tin foil cups. They were snapped up fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
No WAY do these taste like Tootsie Rolls...it's basically a really dense buttercream frosting. The only reason I gave it three stars is because of the novelty value; you could make this w/o cocoa, adding different food colorings and have something perfectly edible for the kids to play with. Very PlayDoh-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This did not work for me at all. After the fact, I see the Comments section. I might have used the wrong milk powder, that being the case it should be made MUCH MORE CLEAR in the recipe itself. This stuff is ending up in my coffee for the next 6 mos. Yuk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I agree with the other person who said use instant nonfat dry powdered milk. There are many brands, but I buy the grocery store brand and it is fine. No, instant nonfat dry powdered milk is not inexpensive. The grocery store brand is no cheaper per gallon than fresh milk, but it is great for homemade hot cocoa, pancake mix etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
LOVED this recipe! Made it with my 6-year-old. He mixed until he was tired of it, and I hand kneaded the powdery mixture until it was smooth and dark brown. Then the kids got to make shapes out of it, just like play dough, only tasty. I just used plain old instant non-fat milk, whatever was already in my kitchen, and had no trouble at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States