Easy Tootsie Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made these and I had to add 3-4 more tablespoons and a few more table spoons of corn syrup because they were so crumbly. They didnt really taste like tootsie rolls to me. My mom liked them but they didnt do much for me, sorry. Thanks for the recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
my son and nephew had a blast making this candy. I did add extra corn syrup and the creamer was a lot cheaper than dried milk and worked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were pretty good, not quite Tootsie Rolls, but as others mentioned it would make a great edible play-doh or I would be more inclined to use it as a chocolate fondant for cake decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
A very tasty and easy recipe. If you find it difficult to incorporate the dry milk into the mixture, try mixing it with other dry ingredients before you add butter and corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
If you like flavor use a package of kool aid in place of the cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Not at all what I hoped for! I love tootsie rolls and these were NOTHING close! They had a sickeningly sweet taste. I tried adding extra cocoa-didn't work. I used dry milk so that wasn't the problem. They also made a huge batch! Even if they were good it would have been way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Made this for your Marines in Iraq and they loved it! Will be making them more! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I used instant nonfat dry milk and these came out fine. Not quite a tootsie roll flavor to me but good enough for the ease of the recipe. I actually just used this as a chocolate version of edible play-doh and my toddler loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I found this to be a really fun recipe. It doesn't taste like the real thing, but the texture is a little similar. **tip** after all the ingredients are incorporated and have turned dark brown, place the mixture in a ziploc bag and knead from the outside. It won't stick to the bag or your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by letter2elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
While a lot of our taste testers were put off by the looks of this recipe, the Brave were rewarded with a sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States