Easy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Very good. Not thick, and need to add spices to taste but a good base for easy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
NO. I thought this was supposed to be a sauce..mmine turned out more like a salsa. please don't waste time with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I was in the process of making some personal pizzas when I realized we had no more pasta sauce! I scrapped this recipe together, and it was very good! I altered it slightly. I used half a chopped onion, and sautéed it in 1.5 Tbs of olive oil until it was more than translucent, almost caramelized. I then added 3, chopped roma tomatoes. I had no tomato puree, so I went ahead and sautéed the fresh tomatoes until it was fairly broken down. I added Italian seasoning, basil, thyme, bay leaf bits, pepper flakes, cayenne pepper, and a generous amount of garlic powder. After all that, I did find it was missing something. I took a cue from MRSMLINE and instead of adding chicken stock and waiting for it to reduce, I added a tsp or half a tablespoon of Better than Bouillon (chicken). It turned out very tasty for the pizza, but it was especially good the following day. I could see myself making this tomato sauce for an entire pasta meal. It is definitely worth trying. It's a great base for adjusting to your personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Fantastic basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrspost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
It's not bad. I just added some meat, garlic and fress basil and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lenachka
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
i followed some advice of other reviewers and took out the tomato puree, and added 3 cloves garlic and dried basil. serves amazing with angel hair pasta with a little parmesan cheese sprinkled on top .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenachka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
easy to make and I just added fresh garlic and some basil and it was delicious. We are diabetic and this receipe fits us perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Someone gave me fresh tomatoes and I needed a way to prepare them (I won't eat them plain), and this recipe was great! As other reviewers stated it's a good base that can be dressed up any number of ways. I personally added minced garlic, basil, oregano, peppers, a little sugar and salt, and 1 cup of chicken broth, then let it simmer and reduce and thicken for a few hours. It was great with spaghetti and meatballs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magob
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
The first time I made this I used garden fresh tomatoes and omitted the puree, and I didnt really care for it, too plain. The Second time I used garden fresh tomatoes and used the tomato puree that has garlic and basil, I also added fresh garlic and basil. I used less chopped onion and used onion powder (I dont care for onions texture) and it was wonderful! this will definitely replace bottled pasta sauce for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Fantastic! I followed a bit of advice from other reviews. I reduced the amt of olive oil to 2 tbsp and added 1 cup of chicken broth and reduced. I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic, garlic powder, dried oregano, dried thyme, and dried basil. The sauce was fantastic as a vegetarian tomato sauce. I used the leftover sauce as part of the marinade in the "marinated grilled shrimp" recipe found on allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States