Easy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Very good. Not thick, and need to add spices to taste but a good base for easy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
NO. I thought this was supposed to be a sauce..mmine turned out more like a salsa. please don't waste time with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I was in the process of making some personal pizzas when I realized we had no more pasta sauce! I scrapped this recipe together, and it was very good! I altered it slightly. I used half a chopped onion, and sautéed it in 1.5 Tbs of olive oil until it was more than translucent, almost caramelized. I then added 3, chopped roma tomatoes. I had no tomato puree, so I went ahead and sautéed the fresh tomatoes until it was fairly broken down. I added Italian seasoning, basil, thyme, bay leaf bits, pepper flakes, cayenne pepper, and a generous amount of garlic powder. After all that, I did find it was missing something. I took a cue from MRSMLINE and instead of adding chicken stock and waiting for it to reduce, I added a tsp or half a tablespoon of Better than Bouillon (chicken). It turned out very tasty for the pizza, but it was especially good the following day. I could see myself making this tomato sauce for an entire pasta meal. It is definitely worth trying. It's a great base for adjusting to your personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Fantastic basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrspost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
It's not bad. I just added some meat, garlic and fress basil and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lenachka
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
i followed some advice of other reviewers and took out the tomato puree, and added 3 cloves garlic and dried basil. serves amazing with angel hair pasta with a little parmesan cheese sprinkled on top .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenachka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
easy to make and I just added fresh garlic and some basil and it was delicious. We are diabetic and this receipe fits us perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Someone gave me fresh tomatoes and I needed a way to prepare them (I won't eat them plain), and this recipe was great! As other reviewers stated it's a good base that can be dressed up any number of ways. I personally added minced garlic, basil, oregano, peppers, a little sugar and salt, and 1 cup of chicken broth, then let it simmer and reduce and thicken for a few hours. It was great with spaghetti and meatballs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magob
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
The first time I made this I used garden fresh tomatoes and omitted the puree, and I didnt really care for it, too plain. The Second time I used garden fresh tomatoes and used the tomato puree that has garlic and basil, I also added fresh garlic and basil. I used less chopped onion and used onion powder (I dont care for onions texture) and it was wonderful! this will definitely replace bottled pasta sauce for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Fantastic! I followed a bit of advice from other reviews. I reduced the amt of olive oil to 2 tbsp and added 1 cup of chicken broth and reduced. I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic, garlic powder, dried oregano, dried thyme, and dried basil. The sauce was fantastic as a vegetarian tomato sauce. I used the leftover sauce as part of the marinade in the "marinated grilled shrimp" recipe found on allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States