Easy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I have High Blood Pressure, so i need to find my own way to make tomato sauce. Even my daughter who hates most everything likes it thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very good "base" for a sauce but I did have to add a few things. I added a can of chicken broth, a pinch of thyme and oregano, plus about 2-3 table spoons of sugar, and half a hand full of flour to thicken up the sauce, over all it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oleander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is a great base, but I added to it to suit my own tastes because on its own it's kind of bland. I added garlic to the onion, and added a pinch of red pepper flakes, dried coriander, dried basil, and dried thyme. I also added about half a cup of frozen spinach, as it needed to be used and it's also how I sneak veggies into our diet. Once it was all cooked I let it cool a bit and threw it in the blender. The only downside to adding the spinach is the color is a bit off and looks a tad unappetizing, but was still tasty nonetheless! I'll keep playing with it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Great basic recipe! Like many other posters on here, I altered the recipe a bit. I added some fresh garlic with the onions, left out the tomato puree, and added some dried basil. Yummy. Next time I will try using a bit chicken or vegetable stock as some other reviewers have, I didn't have any on hand this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is a good start but will definitely need other ingredients based on your tastes. I added more tomato puree to thicken, sauteed mushrooms, garlic, basil, italian seasoning, oregano, and some sugar. Everything else I added was to taste after I completed the recipe as stated. Very fresh tasting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
They should put fresh & tasty into the title, cause just as the name implies its Easy tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Bland as shown but a good base to add your own seasoning and spice things up. very simple so I'll be making this again with the suggestions of other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Great simple recipe.Though I add a cup of chicken stock to the mix and let it reduce till its thick.Great on chicken,pasta,even rice.I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I actually think this is five stars, but only after a few additions. I sauteed some minced garlic with the onion, ditched the tomato puree, and added some basil, oregano, savory and thyme. Tossed it with rotini, feta, peas, a bit more olive oil and vinegar, and tomato-onion tuna. Mmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
So I really enjoyed how basic this recipe was. I was in desperate need of utilizing too many left over Costco tomatoes and this was right up my alley. I didn't have tomato paste, but seeing a review wishing to omit anyway - I did. While I was sauteing the onions I felt like it was missing the "smell." So I added 3 cloves of grated garlic and dried basil. It turned out fantastic! I can still smell my sauce now - Yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States