Easy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I have High Blood Pressure, so i need to find my own way to make tomato sauce. Even my daughter who hates most everything likes it thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very good "base" for a sauce but I did have to add a few things. I added a can of chicken broth, a pinch of thyme and oregano, plus about 2-3 table spoons of sugar, and half a hand full of flour to thicken up the sauce, over all it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oleander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is a great base, but I added to it to suit my own tastes because on its own it's kind of bland. I added garlic to the onion, and added a pinch of red pepper flakes, dried coriander, dried basil, and dried thyme. I also added about half a cup of frozen spinach, as it needed to be used and it's also how I sneak veggies into our diet. Once it was all cooked I let it cool a bit and threw it in the blender. The only downside to adding the spinach is the color is a bit off and looks a tad unappetizing, but was still tasty nonetheless! I'll keep playing with it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Great basic recipe! Like many other posters on here, I altered the recipe a bit. I added some fresh garlic with the onions, left out the tomato puree, and added some dried basil. Yummy. Next time I will try using a bit chicken or vegetable stock as some other reviewers have, I didn't have any on hand this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is a good start but will definitely need other ingredients based on your tastes. I added more tomato puree to thicken, sauteed mushrooms, garlic, basil, italian seasoning, oregano, and some sugar. Everything else I added was to taste after I completed the recipe as stated. Very fresh tasting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
They should put fresh & tasty into the title, cause just as the name implies its Easy tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Bland as shown but a good base to add your own seasoning and spice things up. very simple so I'll be making this again with the suggestions of other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Great simple recipe.Though I add a cup of chicken stock to the mix and let it reduce till its thick.Great on chicken,pasta,even rice.I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I actually think this is five stars, but only after a few additions. I sauteed some minced garlic with the onion, ditched the tomato puree, and added some basil, oregano, savory and thyme. Tossed it with rotini, feta, peas, a bit more olive oil and vinegar, and tomato-onion tuna. Mmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
So I really enjoyed how basic this recipe was. I was in desperate need of utilizing too many left over Costco tomatoes and this was right up my alley. I didn't have tomato paste, but seeing a review wishing to omit anyway - I did. While I was sauteing the onions I felt like it was missing the "smell." So I added 3 cloves of grated garlic and dried basil. It turned out fantastic! I can still smell my sauce now - Yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States