Easy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I added oregano, Sweet Basil, italian seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder to taste and a dash of salt.. And to add a little liquid to the tomato paste and i didn't have a third tomato i poured a little cherry red wine in it. It's yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was super easy and yummy. I love to make things from scratch but didn't have lot of time on this day. I was looking for a pizza sauce recipe and used this as a guide - draining off the extra liquid after letting this simmer for a while. I added sliced mushrooms, a touch of red wine and omitted the tomato puree. This is a good base for making red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayzima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Yay! This was just what I was looking for - a simple, pure recipe. We are eating on a Daniel Fast and can only have pure veggies, no additives or sugar. So I used a can of Firey Diced tomatoes, skipped the puree, added some minced garlic, then blended the cooked ingredients to make a smoother sauce. Smells wonderful cooking and is tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
It's good. A little watery, but I did use extra tomatoes. I also added some green pepper and garlic with the onion and some basil with the tomatoes. I simmered it for a couple hours, too. It was easily eaten and I'm looking forward to the left overs tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonmeilleurami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
simple and quick with no use of tomato paste. however, 4 not 5 starts bec ditched the puree and added fresh garlic cloves, and basil. PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
So delicious and so easy! Great way to use up all of the extra ripe tomatoes from the garden. After reading the previous reviews, I also added some chicken stock, garlic, and basil. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good basic recipe that you can spice to your liking. Some reviewers have said they did not like the "tomato paste." The recipe calls for tomato puree which is not paste and is far less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Just what I was looking for. I had some store-bought chicken and four cheese ravioli that needed a simple tomato sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I made this and it turned out really nice. I used sake instead of white wine and spiced it up with a little chili/sambal sauce and let it simmer for at least a half an hour. My husband loved it and and tells me I have to make it in bigger batches next time since I followed the serving for 4 recipe. I also added a little garlic and chicken stock to make it a bit more robust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States