Easy Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I was very disappointed,with the crust, it did not bake! I followed the receipe to the letter. I would prebake the crust. the filling was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I would make this again, except I would add more egg and less milk. I used fresh tomatoe which added more moisture and it took longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Have made another recipe for tomato pie that was a BIG hit with the family. This recipe was a really soupy mixture & I believe it has to do with the milk combo along with the water from the tomatoes. I had to bake it alot longer than called for & still ended up soupy. I'm going back to the other recipe that utilizes mayo for a sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I had heard so much about tomato pie I decided to make it. This recipe was the most attractive one that I found. I loved the flavor! The only problem I had was similar to others I have seen on these reviews: my tomatoes leached all their water and I had to drain it off (Don't ask me how, it was not very graceful). Other than that I will definitely make this again, the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This tasted good, but the tomatoes got soggy at the bottom - next time I would just layer them on top - plus, it started getting burnt in spots after about 15 mins. I turned it down to 325f for the remainder of the time, and it turned out fine. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This recipe has become my staple informal brunch recipe. Due to the water in teh tomatoes, it is best to toast the inside of the crust a bit first. But how tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
Simply wonderful! I usually use roma (plum) tomatoes - and even then I remove all the seeds to cut down on the moisture. I've used both fresh and dried herbs - both work well. I always use fresh chopped onion instead of dried. I frequently use crescant roll dough instead of a pie crust to save time, mess and the pre-baking step. As other reviews have noted, the leftovers are great! Everyone I've served this to has loved it! I make this recipe frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I made this one evening for dinner, and I had to bake it a lot longer than the recipe stated for the pie to be set in the center. I also found it to be very watery, but I poured a lot of the liquid out of the pan before serving. It was pretty good that night, but I found it to be much better when refridgerated and reheated the next day. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
Quite good. The seven year old wasn't thrilled, but she is very picky. The rest of us liked it... It is very watery, so do get as much juice out of the tomatoes as possible and don't be suprised if it's still a little watery. I probably will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
I've made this recipe several times and everyone has loved it. If you're using fresh tomotoe, it works best if you get as much moisture out of them as you can before you put them in the pie. That keeps it from getting soupy. But like I said, EVERYONE has loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States