Easy Tomato Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Super easy and delicious! I have Celiac disease so this was a keeper recipe for me. I added more tomatoes and also some Oregano and Basil seasoning. My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I am a Mom of two and need QUICK, EASY meals on the double! This was a wonderful grown-up meal that my husband and I enjoyed. I'm sure that my toddler would have ate this, but I decided to give him a kid friendly meal instead. I did use a can of evaporated milk and garlic powder instead of the half and half cream along with fresh garlic. Also, I added a small can of tomato sauce because I thought it was a little on the watery side. This fixed it for sure. I added dill like someone recommended previously. Also, I added a little marjoram along with salt and pepper. When I served it, I put mozzarella along with parmesan cheese on top of it. It was a complete meal with focaccia bread served on the side that I got at our local grocery store. The only thing that I may do different in the future is puree this soup and then add the crab along with the evaporated milk or the half and half cream after pureeing it. Overall, this recipe is a keeper and will make its way to my kitchen table again:). Thanks for sharing it with all of us. This would also be wonderful with a spinach salad of some type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alr516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Really easy to prepare. As a student that's a bonus! It was really good too. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I've made the recipe for years, quick, easy and good. Last night I made it great. Rendered bacon lardon, removed and cooked onions, crushed red pepper and 2 cloves of garlic. Added hand crushed San Marzano tomatoes, organic tomato soap and vegetable stock. Add bacon back and simmered then pureed with an emulsion blender. Add fresh shrimp and simmered until cooked. Add half and half cream and lump crab meat. Warmed and served with cheese panini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onefoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this just as written and it was really good! It took only minutes to put together. The only thing I would do differently next time is to add another can of crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Not very good in my opinion - I thought combining crab and tomato soup would be good, but now it left something to be desired. Not enough flavor and too fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was very good and very easy to make! I made a double batch and am so glad I did. I used two cans of tomatoes and tomato soup and a 16oz can of Brabant meat. I did not double the half and half but added some Parmesan cheese. I also added salt, pepper, extra garlic and old bay. I pureed the garlic, onion and tomatoes with a little of the tomato soup and am so glad I did. I also used fat free half and half. I will definitely be making this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made two batches of this recipe. The first batch I followed exactly, just with fat free half/half and some extra garlic. It was good, but definitely was missing a little something. I followed others' advice and added salt, pepper, and dill. The second batch I used red onions, lots of garlic, better quality lump crab meat, and added some cajun seasoning at the end to give it a little kick. This batch bursts with flavor. Regardless of how you spice it up, you definitely need to use quality lump crab meat, it's sweeter and more flavorful. Very fast preparation with a comfort-food quality, I will be keeping this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This soup was awesome! I made it exactly how it was shown with the exception of using fat-free half-and-half and it was perfect! Next time I make it I may add more seafood to it like mussels, scallops, and shrimp. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe. I added lots more garlic, sea salt, basil and heavy cream. And of course tons of crab. Next time, why not thow in shreaded salmon, baby sea scallops and some shirmp......nice stew. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States