Easy Tomato and Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
This was a good recipe. I added green pepper to the final boil until it was soft, that added a lot of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Super easy! I only had 1 eggplant handy, so I only used 1 can soup. But, I did add in a can of crushed tomatoes and a chopped green pepper. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
After adding some extra ingredients suggested by others this soup turned out great. I used 2 small eggplants, one fresh tomato, 1 can of soup, some fresh basil, some garlic, grated italian cheese blend, italian seasoning, some butter and topped with a dollup of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was very yummy, but I did tweak it a bit as some of the other reviewers did. I sliced the eggplant in 1/2 and coated both sides w/EVOO, S&P, and baked as directed. I then took out the insides and mashed them in a pot so it was chunky. In addition to the tomato soup, I added dried basil, oregano, onion powder, a touch of salt, and freshly minced garlic. I needed to add a lot more chicken broth than directed, because it was very thick. Once it was to my desired consistency, it was fantastic! We served it w/Big Y snowflake rolls- super yummy and great for dipping. We will be making it again, but will need to make a larger amount because it was such a hit w/my family, kids included (3 & 7).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
very easy. i added butter sauted onions, a tablespoon of minced garlic and a tablespoon of ginger paste to give it some spicy depth. served with some bread on a cool november evening it was delicous. with less broth it could be a great pasta sauce, i think. i served it to the husband as a low calorie but high fiber meal for his new low carb diet and he really liked it. thanks for sharing, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLACASandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I tweaked this recipe a bit after reading its reviews, and LOVED it. I used only one can of tomato soup and added four fresh tomatoes that I chopped and blended. Based on others' recommendations I added fresh garlic and grated cheese, along with some salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning. It turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I made this with crushed tomatoes instead of soup and added some garlic. Served it with cheese over the top and a touch of sour cream. Teste was excellent but texture was a little off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Really, I just took the general concepts of this recipe but ended up with something fabulous! I sauteed the eggplant with onions and garlic until tender and then added a can of tomato soup, along with a can of water. The addition of a generous amount of basil completed this lovely, simple meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elsa:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I just made this soup and followed the recipe adding nothing. I wasn't sure about adding milk to the tomato soup but did add just one can of milk. Enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srgnteagle
Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I didn't think the flavor was great, even after I added my own spices. I added roasted garlic, S&P, and basil, but it still needs more "pizzaz". Good, no doubt, but not great. It was fine for dipping grilled cheese into. Just to note: I also ended up adding more chicken broth than called for to thin it out, and the eggplants I used weighed about 1lb each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States