Easy Tomato and Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I tweaked this recipe a bit after reading its reviews, and LOVED it. I used only one can of tomato soup and added four fresh tomatoes that I chopped and blended. Based on others' recommendations I added fresh garlic and grated cheese, along with some salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning. It turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I made this one twice, the second time adding cheese and butter to the recipe before reheating. That added a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
This was a good recipe. I added green pepper to the final boil until it was soft, that added a lot of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was very yummy, but I did tweak it a bit as some of the other reviewers did. I sliced the eggplant in 1/2 and coated both sides w/EVOO, S&P, and baked as directed. I then took out the insides and mashed them in a pot so it was chunky. In addition to the tomato soup, I added dried basil, oregano, onion powder, a touch of salt, and freshly minced garlic. I needed to add a lot more chicken broth than directed, because it was very thick. Once it was to my desired consistency, it was fantastic! We served it w/Big Y snowflake rolls- super yummy and great for dipping. We will be making it again, but will need to make a larger amount because it was such a hit w/my family, kids included (3 & 7).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I just made this soup and followed the recipe adding nothing. I wasn't sure about adding milk to the tomato soup but did add just one can of milk. Enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srgnteagle
Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
After adding some extra ingredients suggested by others this soup turned out great. I used 2 small eggplants, one fresh tomato, 1 can of soup, some fresh basil, some garlic, grated italian cheese blend, italian seasoning, some butter and topped with a dollup of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I like eggplant, but I have to agree with some of the other comments. It's a bland soup, but it could be a good base soup. I had to add onion powder, garlic powder, garlic salt, basil, Italian seasoning, and some crumbles of feta cheese to make it something I wanted to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Super easy! I only had 1 eggplant handy, so I only used 1 can soup. But, I did add in a can of crushed tomatoes and a chopped green pepper. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I made this with crushed tomatoes instead of soup and added some garlic. Served it with cheese over the top and a touch of sour cream. Teste was excellent but texture was a little off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
I love eggplant, but this was the worst tasting soup I've ever made. I added salt and basil and I still ended up not being able to stomach it. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States