Easy Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
ADDICTIVE!!!! The proper temperature is crucial to get perfect consistency. Instead of choc chips, I use 6 hershey bars broken into pieces--yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Made them for my hubby's work and he said they went nuts for them. Don't skip the freezing part to harden them. I did have a hard time breaking them to look cool but hey, it's toffee. Very cool recipe! Thanks -- p.s. don't have a candy themometer, but followed another suggestion to bring it to a boil and then boil it 2 minutes. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I tried it using left over pieces of broken pretzels. The saltiness and sweetness was declicious. I have been using this recipe for the past couple of years and my family and friends love it. It makes a great gift too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
My kids love these. Easy to make and I usually have ingredients on hand. Only thing is, I always have to put the crackers with the chocolate chips back in the oven for 1 minute to melt. Doesn't seem to melt the other way. I also like to top with toasted almonds.I just like the flavour better than not toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Fantastic recipe. I have a sensitivity to all forms of nuts so I obviously didn't add the almonds, but it was still superb. My mom used to make something similar to this around Christmas so this served as a great reminder to her recipe. I used white sugar and accidentally put the chocolate chips on top before I baked it, but it still came out great. The new in laws loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
One of my family's all time favorite treats. This is a simple and delicious recipe. We leave off the nuts and it is still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
My aunt has made this for decades. So happy to find a recipe just like hers! I don't use the almonds. Let me tell you - this is a HIT at any party I've ever been to. My coworkers actually named this "crack candy" because it's so addicting! :) AWESOME recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I have made this for years - don't let the temperature throw you off - or rather, trying to get the right temperature. When you cook the brown sugar and butter it is watery - as it heats to the proper temperature it comes together and when you can wipe your spatula across the bottom as you stir, it will separate so that you can see the bottom of the pan. It is hard to describe in typing but once you see it, you will get what I am trying to convey :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this for some of our Christmas treats. I think the next time I make this, I will break up the crackers in half instead of laying them in rows on the baking sheet. I also think I will use the idea of graham crackers instead. I didn't have room in my freezer, so I put it in the refrigerator instead and it worked just fine, I just kept them in there a little longer than 15 mins. They were a big it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was very quick and easy. My husband raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States