Easy Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Toffee itself tasted really good however since I placed the crackers on a baking sheet, the mixture spilled all over my oven! After about 45 minutes trying to remove the sticky mixture from my oven, I transferred the crackers to a baking dish and resumed baking - The chocolate does not melt very well when spreading over the crackers. This recipe is good but very, very, messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My first attempt at toffee--a super success!! I loved how this recipe had such detailed instructions (on temperature to cook the butter and brown sugar, oven time, etc.) and was a no-fail! The only change I made was to sprinkle crushed candy cane on top instead of nuts and it was a Christmas party hit! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pamela
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Great recipe, I used plain sugar and 1 TBS. corn syrup(keeps it from being grainy) I cook till it reaches 325degrees and I don't bake it at all. Works every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BBMinx
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Made these with 24 individual graham crackers and no nuts. Lined the pan with tinfoil for easy cleanup and sprinkled crushed candy canes on part of the tray :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a wonderful and quick sweet dessert that will feed many on a fixed income. I made a whole batch and distributed them as gifts between my three children's teachers for Christmas gifts. Plus, we got to steal some in the process! They have that wonderfully sweet and salty combination and they look great! I don't have a candy thermometer, so when cooking the brown sugar and butter, you only have to cook long enough until it comes to a boil and reaches a "caramel looking" color. (A few minutes) Then pour over your crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
not bad but Real toffee only takes a few extra minutes and is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Some members of our family are allergic to nuts but I think crushed candy canes would be just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Yum, yum, yum! This stuff is dangerously delicious. I could get fat having this stuff lying around! I modified this recipe in several ways. I melted the butter and brown sugar in the microwave and cooked it until it boiled after that I cooked it for about 2 1/2 minutes. I used ritz crackers instead of saltines. I cooked it for 10 minutes instead of 15, and then cooked for an additional minute after I put on the chocolate chips, to help them melt. I used heath bar bits instead of almond. I broke it into random sized pieces toffee. It was a hit at the party I went to, and was asked for the recipe. I will definitely make again for the next party I go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I screwed up the first time I made it and didn't bake it. Now I don't want to bake it because it's SOOOOO good as is, not baked. I let the sugar/butter boil for 3-4 minutes. Dump it on the crackers (salt side down), sprinkle mini(they melt easier) chocolate chips, let them melt a minute and then spread. It doesn't seem like they will spread at first, but they do. PERFECT combo of chewy, sweet, crispy and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleend74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I made this recipe for a number of years and gave it out as Christmas presents because it's so rich and beautifully presentable! Then I shared it with my mother and she added some raspberry and white chocolate baking chips (instead of milk or dark chocolate) to top the saltines and toffee. It was such an instant success, that people in the family were fighting over who got to eat it! I have rarely eaten such a delicious and simply-made treat. This year, we plan to give out the raspberry saltine toffee as gifts. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States