Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I never knew how easy pie crust is to make! I am never going to buy one again. I am not a crust person when I eat pies but, this one is light and flakey very good. This is my second time using this recipe and both times came out great. I added 3 teaspoons of sugar and mixed it with the flour and used my fave apple pie recipe from this site sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I definitely don't agree with the part of the description that says it's not for novices! This was the easiest pie crust ever! I've never made a pie in my life from scratch, but I decided to try my hand at it for Christmas. I used this recipe for my apple pie, and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Despite the description, I felt this was a simple enough recipe even for someone just learning to bake. It is very easy, but it seemed like a little bit too much shortening, which is what I think causes it to turn dark brown too soon. The dough came out a bit too moist with the shortening and water, which made the crust stick to the pan after baking more than I would have liked. Yes, this is easy to remember, but I'd suggest remembering to add more flour, or subtract a little shortening, and the equation will make for better pies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArbitraryCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very simple and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Easy and perfect...:) :) Love it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
An easy crust to make. Very flaky and tasty but, after sitting on a napkin, the crust left quite a bit of grease behind. As another reviewer suggested, I added 1/3-1/2 Cup flour to reduce moisture/stickiness. Also, I would add a bit of salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I thought this was a terrific recipe. I didn't use quite 1/4 cup of water, I just put it in a tablespoon at a time until it was the consistancy I thought it should be. This was the first time I've ever attempted to make a pie crust, or even a pie and I found it very simple and it turned out perfect. It was very nice and flaky! I agree with the others, even a Novice can make this crust with no trouble. Just be sure and use plenty of flour as you roll it out, it is just a little sticky, but tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya G Maynard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I used this for a pot pie. I thought it was very easy to make. i let it rest for a good 30 minutes before working with it. It was rather sticky and i had to make sure there was enough flour on the cutting board to keep it from sticking. It had a nice light taste to it. I plan on trying this crust for a thanksgiving pie i'm making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
WOW! This is the best pie crust I have ever made, tasted, seen and felt! I think that novice bakers can make this though. To make a reasonably sweet pie crust though, add 1-2 teaspoons of sugar to the mix. Great pie crust. Will definitely add this to my pie collection! Thanks Dierdree, you have solved all of my problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Screw the novice baker warning! I've never made pie crust, and have only recently started baking, and figured it out pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States