Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is the perfect recipe for a beginner. I only made a pie crust because I was too lazy to go the store. Boy was this good. I used coconut oil that I put in the freeezer for a bit. Made it very solid. And replace a tablespoon of water with balsamic. So good. If I make a strawberry pie will do the same thing again, just add a bit of sugar. I also made it in food processor. I cut in the oil, and let it form the dough. This is a perfect recipe. (PS I have only made on pie crust before almost ten years ago.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I never knew how easy pie crust is to make! I am never going to buy one again. I am not a crust person when I eat pies but, this one is light and flakey very good. This is my second time using this recipe and both times came out great. I added 3 teaspoons of sugar and mixed it with the flour and used my fave apple pie recipe from this site sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I definitely don't agree with the part of the description that says it's not for novices! This was the easiest pie crust ever! I've never made a pie in my life from scratch, but I decided to try my hand at it for Christmas. I used this recipe for my apple pie, and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Despite the description, I felt this was a simple enough recipe even for someone just learning to bake. It is very easy, but it seemed like a little bit too much shortening, which is what I think causes it to turn dark brown too soon. The dough came out a bit too moist with the shortening and water, which made the crust stick to the pan after baking more than I would have liked. Yes, this is easy to remember, but I'd suggest remembering to add more flour, or subtract a little shortening, and the equation will make for better pies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArbitraryCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very simple and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Easy and perfect...:) :) Love it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
An easy crust to make. Very flaky and tasty but, after sitting on a napkin, the crust left quite a bit of grease behind. As another reviewer suggested, I added 1/3-1/2 Cup flour to reduce moisture/stickiness. Also, I would add a bit of salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I thought this was a terrific recipe. I didn't use quite 1/4 cup of water, I just put it in a tablespoon at a time until it was the consistancy I thought it should be. This was the first time I've ever attempted to make a pie crust, or even a pie and I found it very simple and it turned out perfect. It was very nice and flaky! I agree with the others, even a Novice can make this crust with no trouble. Just be sure and use plenty of flour as you roll it out, it is just a little sticky, but tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya G Maynard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I used this for a pot pie. I thought it was very easy to make. i let it rest for a good 30 minutes before working with it. It was rather sticky and i had to make sure there was enough flour on the cutting board to keep it from sticking. It had a nice light taste to it. I plan on trying this crust for a thanksgiving pie i'm making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
WOW! This is the best pie crust I have ever made, tasted, seen and felt! I think that novice bakers can make this though. To make a reasonably sweet pie crust though, add 1-2 teaspoons of sugar to the mix. Great pie crust. Will definitely add this to my pie collection! Thanks Dierdree, you have solved all of my problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States