Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Definitely easy to remember! Easy to make, as well. I used this crust as the crust for the Sour Cream Chicken Quiche on here. Very light and flaky. Just a note: I didn't end up using all of the water, when making pie crust--like bread dough--the humidity can affect the amount of liquids you need, so go slow and don't be afraid to use less or more water. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was awesome! The last time I made a pie I was so frustrated with the crust. I had visions of throwing it at the wall. This pie crust rolled out so nice and was awesome tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnna Helgeson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bricelyn, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo Center, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I'm not sure I understand why a novice shouldn't make this... because I thought it was very straight forward and easy. The only thing I didn't see, was directions on cooking~ which I had to guess at temperature and time. I used butter flavored Crisco and it turned out wonderful, maybe just a tad greasy... but really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was my first ever home made pie crust and it turned out perfect, very good and flaky! I will use this for all of my pies now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I used butter instead of shortening and It came our perfectly: flaky, buttery and delicious. Worked great on a blueberry/nectarine pie. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I've used a similar recipe for years. However, I also add a dash of salt and I always use butter flavored shortening. It really needs those additions for maximum flavor. Also, the colder the water, the flakier the crust. I also store it in the fridge for 10 or 15 minutes before rolling it out. This recipe never fails and makes excellent crust. Another note: this recipe will make a bottom crust only. Double it if you want a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I really think that this needs some salt (1/2 teaspoon is perfect!), but it is simple, and very flaky. I made a double batch for a chicken pot pie, and was thrilled with the texture while rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I have a very similar recipe... Instead of shortening, take butter. Less calories, still tastes great! Works really well. Good idea, tho! Love the pic, DD! SK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Well, i made a Raspberry cream pie with this. The taste was ok, and i followed the directiosn exactly but there wasn't enough to fill even a shallow pie crust dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This pie crust was SUPER easy and VERY flaky and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States