Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I find that I like to add about a tsp of salt and a tsp of sugar for a little added flavor, but otherwise what an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is simple and so good!! I make everything myself but pie crust I never bothered with before until I found this recipe! Will be using it over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Yes, this is the recipe I used for years - when I used to cook! Haven't made a pie crust for a long time, I now use the refrigerated Pillsbury, but I used this formula for many years because it is easy to remember and pretty foolproof. I do add just a pinch or two of salt. And if it seems too wet, I just add a little more flour, and plenty of flour to roll it out. I don't even refrigerate first before rolling out. I once made 8 pies for Christmas using this exact recipe. Everybody always complimented me on my piecrust and this is the recipe I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Super easy!! Needs a pinch of salt. I live in Miami where it is always humid. I only needed to use 1/2 of the water. Perfect texture. Definitely will be my crust recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TazCRNA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Easy, tasty, and makes an amazing shell for chicken pot pie. I substituted butter for the shortening, though. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Makes a great pie crust. Definitely need to refrigerate before rolling out. I find its nice to make up a bunch, roll them out and then roll up on a piece of plastic wrap, place in a zip-lock bag and freeze until needed. Saves lots of time when needing a pie crust. Just pull out 30 minutes before you need it so it can defrost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The dough came out resembling play dough type texture but rolled out and tasted ok.I can't make pie crust yet this was simple and easy.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My high school science teacher taught me to bake pie. Just add salt and this is the recipe he used. If you are seeking the ultimate flakey crust you must use lard! Gross, I know, but as long as you are not serving vegetarians, just don't tell anyone. Allow time for the dough to chill and rolling will be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I love this crust! I have done it a few times and have done two things - 1) lessened the water by just a bit and 2) chilled the shortening in the refrigerator for an hour before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. It kept sticking. Followed recipe but didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States