Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have been struggling to learn how to make a good crust and have tried (and failed) with several other recipes. This was very easy and worked beautifully! I added a little salt and used it for quiche. I might add 2T sugar instead and use it for a sweet pie. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I am a novice. It was easy. I have been baking pies for 4 years, using store bought pie crusts. I entered a pie contest at church, so I had to bake my own crust this time. It was easy! I woke up at 3:30 a.m. and followed directions. I used cold shortening and I used iced to get the water cold. I rolled it into a ball and wrapped it in plastic wrap before putting in the freezer for 30 minutes. I'm not sure if the freezer was a good idea or not, but the crust came out perfect! I surprised myself. It was very flaky and reminded me of my great grandmother's crust. I don't have a mixer and neither did my great grandma, I used my left hand to mix ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This really was the easiest and flakiest pie crust! I've been looking for a recipe like this. I added water until I got the right consistency and I didn't end up using a full 1/4 cup. I would suggest doing that instead of simply adding the water. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I was taught this recipe 25 yrs ago by a Navy Chef..so Easy..I use the Sugar in the dry flour and the salt I add to the water..We made this Recipe in Hugh Portions, as we were making 4-6 Cobblers and at least 6 pies each Day!! The BEST Recipe!! Former Boeing St. Louis Chef/Baker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I find that I like to add about a tsp of salt and a tsp of sugar for a little added flavor, but otherwise what an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is simple and so good!! I make everything myself but pie crust I never bothered with before until I found this recipe! Will be using it over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Yes, this is the recipe I used for years - when I used to cook! Haven't made a pie crust for a long time, I now use the refrigerated Pillsbury, but I used this formula for many years because it is easy to remember and pretty foolproof. I do add just a pinch or two of salt. And if it seems too wet, I just add a little more flour, and plenty of flour to roll it out. I don't even refrigerate first before rolling out. I once made 8 pies for Christmas using this exact recipe. Everybody always complimented me on my piecrust and this is the recipe I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Super easy!! Needs a pinch of salt. I live in Miami where it is always humid. I only needed to use 1/2 of the water. Perfect texture. Definitely will be my crust recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Easy, tasty, and makes an amazing shell for chicken pot pie. I substituted butter for the shortening, though. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Makes a great pie crust. Definitely need to refrigerate before rolling out. I find its nice to make up a bunch, roll them out and then roll up on a piece of plastic wrap, place in a zip-lock bag and freeze until needed. Saves lots of time when needing a pie crust. Just pull out 30 minutes before you need it so it can defrost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States