Easy To Do Oven BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I added about a teaspoon of ceyenne, 1/2 t. of chili powder, and about 1 t of Worcestershire sauce; will add more spicy heat next time. Substituted agave nectar for some of the honey. Used an all natural ketchup to skip the high fructose corn syrup. Agree with other reviewers in that I will skip the searing next time; seemed like a waste of olive oil and a pan; sauce was plenty flavorful without the oil. That step can be equaled by browning it uncovered in the oven at the end of cooking. Very easy with ingredients nearly every kitchen already has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I read several of the reviews and added more garlic to get rid of some of the ketchup taste as others had suggested and also marinated for 2 hours prior to baking. I also seasoned the chicken with garlic salt and pepper since some reviews said it was a little bland. The only good thing was the chicken was moist. But did not like the taste at all. I still could only taste the ketchup and vinegar. Will not be making again. I guess I was looking for a more traditonal BBQ sauce taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
It was a nice change because it was tangy and sweet, but I wouldnt categorize it as BBQ. Was kinda watery, but the sauce was actually yummy. Would be good served over rice. More like an Asian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Use any oil based dressing (like italian or raspberry) instead of vinegar and it can get interesting the tasts you come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
The sauce was wonderful. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
It wasn't great and I wouldn't call it BBQ sauce. It tasted more like shrimp sauce to me. I had to add a lot of things to make it less sweet. I added garlic salt, ginger, pepper flakes, soy sauce and lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was excellent! My boyfriend and I liked it very much. The sweet taste is rather unusual for us (I added more honey to loose the ketchup taste) but we really enjoyed it, and it is also very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This recipe was very bland! I had to add things to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was great chicken! The guys were pretty impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kj421

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Ok if you are in a hurry and do not have a lot of ingrediants on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States