Easy Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
first i changed the servings to yeild 11 servings. this made enough cream for my 8x11 baking dish. I used enough lady fingers to fill the dish. (appx 30?). i followed the recipe exactly with all the ingredients, but i also added a secret ingredient to the mascarpone mixture. i used a pint of heavy whipping cream, beat it seperately to make my own whipped cream and folded it into the mascarpone mix together with allt he other ingredients. this will make the consistency of the cream JUST RIGHT (so its never runny) without changing the taste. then, to solve your problems of the lady fingers breaking.... use VERY COLD coffee. i buy a large cup of black coffee WITH 2 SUGARS IN IT and refrigerate it for a few hours. then i dunk the lady fingers very quick on both sides but give them no time to soak. i serve the next day. IN-FREAKING-CREDIBLE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Very horrible recipe, I thought with all the good reviews it would be good. The ladyfingers were soaked with coffee making the dessert very juicy. I would suggest just brushing the ladyfingers with a coffee-soaked pastry brush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This recipe is great! Like other reviewers, I made changes based on the unavailablity of lady fingers in my area, and with the filling amount and process. I used one, store bought angel food cake in place of the lady fingers. I also used a 9X13 pan. Here are the amounts of other ingredients I used: 5 egg yolks 1/3 cup white sugar 3 Tbsp vanilla extract 16 oz Marscarpone cheese 1 angel food cake 1 cup strongly brewed instant coffee 1.5 Tbsp cocoa powder I placed slices of angel food cake in the pan, then spooned 2 teaspoons of coffee per piece over the bottom layer rather than dipping. Then I put a layer of filling, and then a layer of cake, this time with 3 teaspoons per piece. It worked out wonderfully and was not soggy at all. As a former health inspector, I was concerned about using raw eggs, but there's enough sugar in the mix to not allow bacterial growth. I also made sure to promptly refrigerate any remaining cake. I especially love this recipe because I wanted tiramisu without the alcohol. I will definetly make this again. I may substitute the marscarpone with neufchatel cheese, as I wouldn't mind it tasting a bit like cheesecake, and it would make it less expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is one of the most delicious no bake, easy recipes there are. The only reason I had to give it 4 stars is because I had to make a few changes to make it even better-1st change is double the filling amount. 2nd change is to dip the ladyfingers (make sure they are not soft but hard cookie ones) in a mixture that is 2 parts coffee, 1 part frangelico hazelnut liquor. Then i added some whipped cream on top. This is excellent and everyone that tries it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I had a few issues with this recipe. First of all, I did follow others suggestions and made twice the cheese filling. The filling was very thin even after adding an additional 1/4 cup of cheese. After sitting in the fridge for 24 hours, it did finally firm up enough to where you could cut into it and have a formed piece instead of the filling running everywhere. Second, if you are going to use an 8x8 pan as the recipe calls for, you should not need all 24 lady fingers or to double the filling. My 8x8 pan would hold 12 lady fingers and the orginal quantity of filling. Thinking in advance, I did a dry run with the cookies by placing them in the 8x8 pan before I even started the rest of the recipe. I ended up using an 11x7 pan and I thought it was the perfect size. Because the filling was so thin, the cheese mixture didn't do a very goo job of actualy forming a seperate layer. Overall, the taste was fine, but if I make another tiramisu, I will try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
For never making Tiramisu before, this recipe helped me look like a pro. A co-worker born in Italy (and a Tiramisu fanatic) raved on and on about it, what more can I say but thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a FABULOUS recipe, and so easy! It turned out perfect for me, but I took the advice of others so it wouldn't turn out runny. Only dip the lady fingers in the coffee for 1 second per side. That is plenty, any longer and it will turn to complete mush. I know some people suggested using a pastry brush, but that doesn't add enough coffee. I also let it sit overnight as so many said it tasted better the next day. It was a complete hit and everyone is asking for the recipe. Very Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimejorg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made this recipe before and it turned out excellent. However, when I did it this time, it turned out to be very soggy to the point that I have liquid sipping out in the pan soaking the leftovers. It happened twice this past 2 weeks and I could not understand what happened. Also, the recipe did not mentioned anything about the eggwhite, but I went ahead and beat eggwhites to stiff peak with 1 teaspoon of sugar and then fold into the cheese mixture. That should not have affected the result.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This was a great recipe! I couldn't find any lady fingers, so I substituted sugar free pepridge farm milano cookies (since my stepdad is diabetic). I also replaced the white sugar with a sugar substitute. And then, I couldn't find mascarpone cheese, so I used the recipe using cream cheese (it's called 'mascarpone substitute' here, I believe). anyways, although mine was a little cheesecake like, it was still delicious even as a diabetic recipe... except I did use regular whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Easy alright, but not cheap! I had to go to a specialty store to buy the cheese, and while I was there I went ahead and bought the lady fingers,cocoa,and coffee. Well, the sales guy "pressured" me into buying "their" tiramisu, so I could "compare", and I did not knowing the price. Well, time to check out and I spent $45. So now I have a $45 batch of tiramisu in the fridge that is not half bad but If I look at one more piece, I'll spit ladyfingers! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States