Easy Tasty Dates Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Always a hit. Have made with goat cheese, gorganzola or blue cheese - all are good. Have made with and without the pecan. Good both ways though I prefer with the nut. It provides a bit of texture in an otherwise soft bite. Mine take at least 40 minutes to crisp up the bacon thus the 4 stars. I poke them with a toothpick after they come out of the oven but it isn't necessary, just neater for finger food. Part of my go-to rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This recipe is delicious!! Such a great appetizer for holiday parties. I follow the recipe but substitute feta for the goat cheese and it is a huge hit. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I modified this recipe a bit -but it's become the appetizer I make when I want to "wow" people. I'm not a big fan of goat cheese, so I mix a good gorgonzola with cream cheese, and add chopped pecans to that mix. It makes assembly go a bit faster. I use toothpicks to hold each together and make serving easier. This is such a hit every time and I always have an empty dish. Do NOT skip the balsamic reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
These were wonderful! I used cream cheese instead of goat cheese though and skipped the pecans. Blue cheese would be a great mix as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Metcalfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These are delicious! Super easy to assemble and great finger food for parties. I used thick cut bacon so I cut the slices in thirds and it was perfect. Definitely make as directed to get desired result. Don't skip balsamic reduction or bacon. These are both big elements of the recipe and these flavors blend in an amazing way. Leave one out and you'll get something completely different. I recommend moving dates to a paper towel after cooking to blot briefly before plating and drizzling with balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These were AMAZING! I used turkey bacon and skipping the balsamic glaze completely and they were a huge hit at my Oscar party. They were best right out of the oven when the goat cheese was creamy. My guests loved them and not one was left. Will make this again FOR SURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Good. They were sweet. I'll have to get some saltier bacon. I didn't use the balsamic vinegar and sugar. I just couldn't imagine adding anymore sweetness to the mix. Would definitely make again! Thanks. Broiled 3 minutes each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was a huge hit at thanksgiving. Made exactly as recipe states and they were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Goat Cheese just doesn't create a pleasant taste in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rpstroud

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paoli, Indiana, USA
Living In: Corydon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These were great! I did not use bacon either. Yes if you don't like goat cheese, then don't make this recipe. I have never had goat cheese before and it is very smooth and creamy. I also have never had dates. I can't believe how good these were, everyone raved about them and asked for the recipe. I will make these for a Christmas appetizer.Very easy! yumyumyum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States