Easy Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Yowza! This was spicy and salty!!! Oddly enough, I sat down to write this review and the first one I see says, "Needed more chili powder and salt for our taste." I guess it's all a matter of perception, but this isn't the mix I'll be using in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
i thought it was right on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I used this as a replacement for my "lack-of" in my pantry. It serves well as a replacement. I prefer my brand with the chunks. I used dried minced onion instead of powder. I added some spice with 1/2tsp cayenne pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mat Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Very simple to make, as I keep all those ingredients on hand to begin with. Could maybe use a wee bit of cayenne or something like that to give it some "kick". Otherwise, the combination tastes great - I will use this as a base, and play with the heat level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I was making a casserole that called for taco seasoning and realized I had none in the house, so I came to Allrecipes to see what I could find. This was the easiest one and I had all the ingredients on hand, so I made it. I tasted it before adding it to my dish and it seemed to taste exactly like what comes in those packets. I won't be buying the pre-made stuff anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GCTAYLOR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This really has a nice flavor. I added a 1/2 tsp of cornstarch and some water to try and thicken a bit like the packets. That would have to be played with a bit but I like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
made it tasted delicious with my ground beef tacos loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Didn't have onion power, so I used minced onion (1 TB) instead. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Nice flavor. Probably could use a little more chili powder for more of a 'taco' taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I am so happy you posted this recipe. I never realized those were the ingredients that went into those taco seasoning packets> Lol. You would think I know since Im Mexican-American. I love that it's easy and quick to make!! Thank so much and I will be making enough to use with my Mexican cooking. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jomazob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States