Easy Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Didn't have onion power, so I used minced onion (1 TB) instead. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Very simple to make, as I keep all those ingredients on hand to begin with. Could maybe use a wee bit of cayenne or something like that to give it some "kick". Otherwise, the combination tastes great - I will use this as a base, and play with the heat level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
made it tasted delicious with my ground beef tacos loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Nice flavor. Probably could use a little more chili powder for more of a 'taco' taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I am so happy you posted this recipe. I never realized those were the ingredients that went into those taco seasoning packets> Lol. You would think I know since Im Mexican-American. I love that it's easy and quick to make!! Thank so much and I will be making enough to use with my Mexican cooking. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jomazob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
As advertised, quick and easy. Didn't think it was that spicy and probably could use some red pepper flakes--everyone has an opinion about spice that is personalized, so adjust to your taste. I am still not sure about the sugar component--not sure what it adds. I'd prefer to leave it out next time. It's relatively flavorful and works in a pinch, plus it makes enough to store. I like to keep empty spice jars and re-use them for things like this, and it was enough to go in my recipe that I needed, and to almost fill a 2.62 oz McCormick spice jar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I used this as a replacement for my "lack-of" in my pantry. It serves well as a replacement. I prefer my brand with the chunks. I used dried minced onion instead of powder. I added some spice with 1/2tsp cayenne pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matmyers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I was making a casserole that called for taco seasoning and realized I had none in the house, so I came to Allrecipes to see what I could find. This was the easiest one and I had all the ingredients on hand, so I made it. I tasted it before adding it to my dish and it seemed to taste exactly like what comes in those packets. I won't be buying the pre-made stuff anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GCTAYLOR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This really has a nice flavor. I added a 1/2 tsp of cornstarch and some water to try and thicken a bit like the packets. That would have to be played with a bit but I like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Yowza! This was spicy and salty!!! Oddly enough, I sat down to write this review and the first one I see says, "Needed more chili powder and salt for our taste." I guess it's all a matter of perception, but this isn't the mix I'll be using in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States