Easy Sweet Potatoes with Kahlua Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Made the recipe for 3 servings instead of 6. Called for 1/4 cup butter - used 3 tsps Butter Buds to cut fat and calories, 2 tsps water and 1 Tbsp butter. Next time I will use just Butter Buds and water. Called for 1/3 cup brown sugar - used only 2 Tbsp. It was more than sweet enough for me. To cut calories I will use only 1 Tbsp. next time. I liked the addition of Kahlua. Very tasty and would make again. My changes are only because I prefer to try and cut calories for myself. Didn't add raisins or pecans. Boyfriend also liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Oh yum! This is a great side dish. I followed the recipe exactly and it is delicious! Be sure to use real unsalted butter, to get a great caramel flavor. I used a yellowish sweet potato, as opposed to a yam. I simmered the sauce a little after adding the kahlua, to cook off some of the alcohol. The kahlua added a great unexpected flavor. Sweet potatoes are so nutritious, you should eat them often, not just for Thanksgiving. And use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
this recipe was wonderful, My wife usually makes a sweet potatoe dish to go with pork but this beat hers by a mile. Don't tell her I said that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I found a very similar recipe without raisins and pecan. I made it this year for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. It's a fantastic recipe. We love Kahlua so I double the amount of Kahlua and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very Good, I thought that the Kahlua taste may have been slightly overwhelming (even though i love kahlua), but no one else did. I made these for the first time for Thanksgiving dinner and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Sotack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
You don't need to add much liqueur, too much would certainly over-do it. I made this with 4 very large sweet potatoes, 1 stick of salted butter, all the brown sugar called for and a little more than 3 tablespoons of Kahlua. Very rich, very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Good, but too much for weeknight dinner. I'll definately use it on a special ocassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LostinSouthBama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dauphin Island, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I just made this! i didnt use raisins or any nuts but it was delicious! my favorite sweet potatoes before this was mashed with a ton of streusal on top. sometimes that got way too sweet so this recipe is perfect! just sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlyrs2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I used regular coffee instead of kahlua. I also doubled the nuts and raisins because I didn't think there were enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Gave this recipe to my husband who loves to cook, they were the best sweet potatoes.. love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States