Easy, Sweet Cornbread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
The best corn muffin ever. What I did to minimize the sweetness though I used 2 table spoon of honey instead of 3, and instead of using 2 table spoon of sugar I used a dash of sugar on each muffin. The best. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe definitly is better than just a plain box of cornbread, however, I can't say it was a hit with anybody.I did not make them muffins and next time I will. I made them in 2 small loaf pans. I substituted sour cream (did not have it on hand) for cottage cheese and did not add the white sugar as suggested that it is too sweet with it. When making boxed cornbread in the past, I just add half a can of creamed corn and it is just as moist. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
My husband and I thought these muffins were very good. I didn't have sour cream so used low fat cottage cheese that I had as a substitute. They are very moist almost cake like. Next time I will omit the sugar on top it just added extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This by far is the best Jiffy recipe I've tasted. Of course I made a few modifications like most of us on here. I split the recipe in half to make sweet muffins and savory muffins. 1) follow basic recipe minus sour cream and sugar. Increased honey to 6tbsp plus added 1 cup thawed sweet frozen corn pulsed with 2-4 tbsp unsalted butter. Also added 1/4 cup heavy cream to the 1/4 cup of milk. 2) too make savory I added garlic powder, onion powder, black ground pepper, Cayenne pepper and shaved Parmesan cheese ( 1/4 cup or so). I love these base recipes that you can build on. These were a big hit. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I wasn't sure how to rate this. I made mini muffins and didn't have paper liners so I sprayed the pan with cooking spray. The muffins completely stuck to the pan so we didn't have much by way of muffin left when pulling them out of the pan. But my husband really liked the taste. And one out of two kids thought they were good. I'll give it a try again sometime with muffin liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Delicious and moist! Did not add extra sugar on top. For a spread, mixed about 1tbsp whiskey, 1 C butter, 2tbsp honey. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Smith Weiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was great! I used brown sugar and no honey. I didn't sprinkle the extra sugar either. Kids loved it. Seeing as how my last attempt to cornbread ended up like a door stop :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I was looking for an easy way to up the level of a box of Jiffy and this was it! I did not add the sugar as per other comments. It would have been too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I have tried this recipe and I thought it was delicious. Made them for Easter and they were eaten up like hotcakes. Will be making more tonite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I've made the Jiffy cornbread muffins per box instructions and they were dry and bland. This recipe tastes really good; moist and sweet. I did not add sugar, just honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States