Easy Sweet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I made this for a family party, so upped the ground beef to 2 pounds. Then used enough garlic powder for 2 cloves, used four different kinds of beans (black, pinto, red, and pink) and didn't use the sugar at all. This was probably the best chili we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Made this today and just loved it :) Added some onions and mushrooms because my family loves them! But overall great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Fantastic and super easy! I swapped out the white sugar for brown, which gives it a wonderfully sweet and smooth flavor. Also, I added in pinto beans. Either way, it is a great chili recipe for those of us on a time schedule. My boys (5 and 3) love the flavor since it isn't spicy at all and goes very well with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Really good and very easy. Wonder if the salt and pepper can be added in the beginning versus after it is done. I did not alter the recipe in anyway and it was great. I would add double the meat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is my first review. We were invited to a Superbowl Party and my 9 year old decided she too wanted to enter the chili contest being held. Well, she won 1st place out of 8 entries as judged by only adults! I did forget to buy the corn and she only added 1 tablespoon of sugar (usually not a fan of modifications but this is how she made it based on the original recipe). She followed the rest of the recipe to the letter (getting only help with the hot stove). Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
tried this tonight. Used maple flavoured brown beans and kidney beans left out the sugar. Still had a nice sweet taste. Hubby and I loved it, the kids were on the fence about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Super easy, not too spicy and all my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Very easy, very tasty, very economical, and very satisfying. We thought this is the perfect meal for those busy days. The only change I made was to substitute molasses for the sugar, use frozen sweet corn, and sauted a small onion while browning the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Although I made a few modifications, this was fantastic! The modifications are as follows: 1) Supermarket fresh basil and oregano finely chopped when cooking ground beef 2) Garlic and chili powder going into the crock pot at two hour mark rather than with ground beef, also added red pepper flakes 3) 2 lbs. of ground beef rather than one (ground chuck is great) cook one pound at a time and add without the fat if you can manage to avoid it 4) Added a can of Tomato paste designed for chili recipes 5) Used a bit less of the canned corn 6) Well rinsed the beans, like three to four times (this enhances the texture and flavor of the beans IMO - tip: use the sprayer on your sink) 7) Didn't use sugar at all, not sure it would have made much of a difference anyways, especially when using the chili tomato paste If you are making a larger batch, I would highly recommend you consider my alterations. Although it is quite mild, you can spice it up more by adding a jalapeno pepper or more chili powder. I try to avoid using powders and premade spices, hence why I used fresher basil and oregano. It all helps to enhance the flavor. Although this is quite hypocritical of me considering I used the chili tomato paste, but, hey I only used one can! Overall I am very happy with this recipe and will use this often. Next time I might add a whole onion chopped or I'll try the brown sugar to making something sweet. For some background: College male, brought to a super bowl party, the ladies loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I was iffy about trying this, thought it was weird to have chili with no onions or jalapenos. But....it's delicious! I only had 3 10oz cans of rotel tomatoes with onion and peppers so I used those and a bit more tomatoe sauce. I also used brown sugar instead of white 2 cans of kidney and 2 cans of pinto beans and I sprinkled some red pepper flakes. I only had 1 can of corn too and it worked just fine. This is a perfect recipe for onion haters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States