Easy Sweet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kcarbary1984
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Cut recipe down a little (2 cans tomato, two cans beans one pinto one black and one can of corn) delicious!! Also added chopped onion and red pepper. So easy and so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This is a great tasting chili for those busy days. I use 2 cans of Pinto beans ratherbthannthe four cans of Kidney beans because I am not a huge fan of beans. I also add an onion and use a combination of Ancho and Chipotle Chili powders and Brown Sugar instead of white. It is soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is a very good, non-spicy chili. Deb C. suggested this recipe, and I trust her recommendations and have never been disappointed. I knew I would enjoy this chili, but wondered about my family as they like a spicy chili. Well, to my delight, they loved it. The only change I made was in the corn. I have fresh sweet corn that we froze last summer, so I subbed that for the canned corn. This was good the first night, but even better for lunches the next day. If this cold weather keeps up, I will be making this again, soon. Thanks tmwood86 for sharing your version of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Really loved this! Used only brown beans and no kidney beans, and only used half a tsp of chili powder. Was the best chili I have made! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Home Town: Manning, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Great Recipe! Even better the second day. Great when finished, even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is my first review. We were invited to a Superbowl Party and my 9 year old decided she too wanted to enter the chili contest being held. Well, she won 1st place out of 8 entries as judged by only adults! I did forget to buy the corn and she only added 1 tablespoon of sugar (usually not a fan of modifications but this is how she made it based on the original recipe). She followed the rest of the recipe to the letter (getting only help with the hot stove). Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Although I made a few modifications, this was fantastic! The modifications are as follows: 1) Supermarket fresh basil and oregano finely chopped when cooking ground beef 2) Garlic and chili powder going into the crock pot at two hour mark rather than with ground beef, also added red pepper flakes 3) 2 lbs. of ground beef rather than one (ground chuck is great) cook one pound at a time and add without the fat if you can manage to avoid it 4) Added a can of Tomato paste designed for chili recipes 5) Used a bit less of the canned corn 6) Well rinsed the beans, like three to four times (this enhances the texture and flavor of the beans IMO - tip: use the sprayer on your sink) 7) Didn't use sugar at all, not sure it would have made much of a difference anyways, especially when using the chili tomato paste If you are making a larger batch, I would highly recommend you consider my alterations. Although it is quite mild, you can spice it up more by adding a jalapeno pepper or more chili powder. I try to avoid using powders and premade spices, hence why I used fresher basil and oregano. It all helps to enhance the flavor. Although this is quite hypocritical of me considering I used the chili tomato paste, but, hey I only used one can! Overall I am very happy with this recipe and will use this often. Next time I might add a whole onion chopped or I'll try the brown sugar to making something sweet. For some background: College male, brought to a super bowl party, the ladies loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Super easy, not too spicy and all my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
tried this tonight. Used maple flavoured brown beans and kidney beans left out the sugar. Still had a nice sweet taste. Hubby and I loved it, the kids were on the fence about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Tasty & easy, added 1 can black beans and a packet of chili seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States